We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service in Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service in Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed 2 nights over a weekend at this new Premier Inn. I chose it because it was close to Dorchester South Station (it's opposite) and that was about it.
I left really impressed. The room was clean and modern.
But what impressed me were the staff - they were all, without exception, relentlessly cheerful, professional and helpful. They couldn't do enough for us. It was as if I was staying in a budget hotel, with 5 star service.
Breakfast was reasonably priced and plentiful. Dishes were quickly refilled with freshly cooked food.
Dinner choices were kept simple - pizza, pasta and salads,but were also reasonably priced and what we ordered was fresh and tasty.
This hotel is part of a new development, so there's also a Wagamama and Zizzi outside. Town is only a 5 minute walk away.
All in all - an unexpected good find.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    287
    82
    27
    19
See reviews for
327
323
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Lady on reception was very polite and recommended a local restaurant to visit for dinner, also a great late night game of chess with Malcolm on the bar. Room was 100 perfect for what I needed, very good premier inn.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank South-West F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed at the Premier Inn for one night on business arriving late and leaving at 6.30am. The guy on reception was friendly, helpful and appeared to be genuinely proud of the new hotel, a great ambassador for the brand. The room (312) was at the back of the hotel, so no views but then I wasn't there long, so it wasn't an issue. The room was typical of Premier Inns - comfy, good size, spotlessly clean, 30 minutes free wi-fi, just a bit impersonal. The hotel is part of the Brewery regenerated area of Dorchester, a few shops have opened next door (Hobbs, Phase Eight etc) and there's several restaurants: Nandos, Carluccios, Zi-Zis and the new Odeon cinema. It's also right next door to Dorchester South station which is on the London Waterloo line (no train noise though). So all in all a great place to stay to explore Dorchester (if you're not working that is.....!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We recently stayed in Dorchester at this new Premier Inn. The welcome was warm and when people queued behind us immediately someone else appeared to assist them. The rooms were, as you would expect in a new hotel, clean tidy spacious and modern. Breakfast the next morning saw us greeted by a very cheery man in a Brian Blessed style "Good Morning" food was great and the atmosphere really nice. Great Value for money, right next to the railway station. Right next to around five or six chain restaurants and the cinema and merely 15 minutes from many of the Jurassic coasts best bays and beaches.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt9711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable and pleasant visit. As you noted we have a fantastic location, clean, comfortable and modern rooms.

I am also pleased that you found your stay good value for money, I will also pass on your great comments about the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

good, safe, clean, comfortable and quiet. Can't fault the Preier Inn in Dorchester. Good location Right next to the railway station and the town. Very enjoyable stay and would definately do it again, hopefully soon!


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at the Premier Inn Dorchester.It was in a great situation within walking distance of the town ,in a new development,the staff were very helpful and it was good to be able to park the car in the underground car park ,we did arrive early so maybe we were lucky to get a space. The only drawback was the restaurant in the hotel,being in a new development the majority of eating places were Italian and so was the one in the hotel,so if you didn't want Italian there wasn't much on offer.Please Premier Inn have a variety of food to suit everyone as we would have liked to eat in restaurant and take advantage of your meal deal as we have done on many occasions whilst staying with you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaci21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

At last -- a good, modern hotel in the heart of Dorchester. This is quite new and is one of the larger type Premier Inns with its own restaurant where you can (and we did) enjoy a huge all-you-can-eat breakfast. The staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms are the usual high quality you expect from this chain of hotels. It is ideally located next to Dorchester South Railway Station and is set within the heart of the town's lively new Brewery Square development, so there's a fantastic choice of restaurants within a minute's walk. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
107 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing