We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and welcoming stay”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Was really impressed with recent stay in this hotel. Thought it was excellent value for money at £50 for a double room. Room was large, bed was really comfortable and big and the staff were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    289
    83
    27
    19
See reviews for
329
330
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a new hotel, very clean & comfortable. Parking is a little confusing & the availability for parking should be made a little clearer. Having said that the receptionist who greeted us was very helpful & even came out of the hotel to make sure we had parked in the right place.
Will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We asked for our rooms too be close together when we booked as we was travelling with my mother and father law and we wanted too be closer too them, but they were on the first floor while we was on the 3rd although not a major problem but still a bit of a inconvienince, we did book a table for dinner but soon changed our mind when we see the menu there was harly any thing on it that looked or sounded nice. once up in our room the first thing we noticed was the sixe it was tiny hardly any room left once the beds had been put up for the kids, amd the master bed well that was terrible the noise it made was very loud just sitting on it was noisey, we changed our room and went straight out, when we got back from dinner i got the kids too bed sat on my bed and it made exactly the same noise as the first bed did, with the kids in bed i didnt want too move again so i sufferd it, we checked out quite early the next morning and told the receptionist about the bed and she just said "well the beds are new, i'll get someone too look at them".
Not the best Premier inn I have stayed in.

Room Tip: dont stay here if you are a family off four and bring ear plugs if you fidget in the night as the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Good central location near train station and close to Pizza Express, Zizzi, Wagamama and Carlucio's and a cinema. Oh, and an amphitheatre! Reasonable value at ~£55/night.
Every member of staff was friendly and made sure they could help. Although the car park was out of action due to flooding from the recent storm, alternative arrangements were fine (and free). Our room was 20 mins late but this wasn't a problem.
The room was comfortable and fine for 2 adults and a child.
The only slight niggles were that I found it difficult to get the room temperature right and we had to wait 30mins for breakfast and some items were not that warm. However, overall we enjoyed our 2night stay and would come back to enjoy the beautiful countryside.
I'd recommend the views from the Hardy monument near Portesham and NT free car park high above Ringstead Bay, Chesil Beach at Abbotsbury and wandering round Dorchester and Weymouth.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricardodesantaalbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Still quite new and shiny! Staff seemed very cheerful! Only rooms left when booking were for disabled, so had them. Would say they were very spacious and well designed for disabled users but surprised they were situated on 2nd and 3rd floors? Reasonable nights sleep and nice to be literally next door to Odeon Cinema and restaurants in Brewery Square. Area is still under regeneration so view from our window was a bit bleak but new development is needed in Dorchester. We avoid eating at Premier Inns as never a good experience. That said, would use this hotel as is a convenient stopover on the way to the West Country.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for a weekend at the end of August for my son's wedding and the Premier Inn is superbly located in the Town Centre. Very clean and the room was very spacious, excellent value for money. Would recommend, only downside was having to queue for breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shadow2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Room not available at 14.30, restaurant dead and soulless in the evening. Closed on arrival . Drinks £8 for 2 mangers . No draft beer in fact you cannot call this a bar. Seated area of bar very cold. Manager was having a meeting with the chef whilst rooms were not available for waiting guests !!! Maybe she should have been dealing with housekeeping instead. Worst premier inn experience and stay in them over 50 times a year

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Chops1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,040 reviews
19.8 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
7.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing