We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location In Dorchester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good Location In Dorchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A very warm welcome from the staff, who showed us to our very comfortable room. Excellent parking too. Breakfast was well displayed which was on a help yourself basis.
Checkout in the morning was quick and efficient




  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    265
    76
    26
    19
See reviews for
299
294
32
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Excellent PI, adjacent to Dorchester south station, new shopping/restaurant area and 10 min walk to town centre. Great experience - fun staff, new clean rooms, nice communal areas. Two minor issues - you can hear this constant grumbling noise (i believe the generator) even on 4th floor and the lifts are a little temperamental so we used the stairs where we could. Everything else faultless.

Room Tip: Internal courtyard room was quiet at the weekend although some building work started on monday morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BournemouthCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

As one other reviewer said, it hasn't been open long, so there are bound to be "teething problems" Parking is available, although limited for the time being, but you can drop off and pick up outside the hotel entrance. I was confused because I couldn't find the entrance to the hotel in the first place, you have to drive round to the back to find the front, so to speak. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Rooms are clean, neat and tidy, beds are as comfortable as advertised, as are the pillows. Breakfast times are from 06.30 to 10.30, which is great if you are tired and want a long lie-in, it is just standard hotel chain "help-yourself" fare, but you can eat as much as you want.
I did opt to eat at the hotel restaurant in the evening, they currently offer a very limited Italian menu, so if you don't like garlic, nuts, or olives I would suggest eating elsewhere. Avoid the prawn cocktail.

Room Tip: Currently most rooms overlook a building site, there is one lift available for every floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This Premier Inn hasn't been open long so everything is brand new and clean. The hotel is in a great location with a good choice of restaurants and a cinema literally minutes from the hotel. My only slight quibble is that the breakfast isn't that great but for the price paid and with kids eating free you can't really complain. I would happily stay here again if travelling through Dorchester.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LauraBJ4902LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Was really impressed with recent stay in this hotel. Thought it was excellent value for money at £50 for a double room. Room was large, bed was really comfortable and big and the staff were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a new hotel, very clean & comfortable. Parking is a little confusing & the availability for parking should be made a little clearer. Having said that the receptionist who greeted us was very helpful & even came out of the hotel to make sure we had parked in the right place.
Will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We asked for our rooms too be close together when we booked as we was travelling with my mother and father law and we wanted too be closer too them, but they were on the first floor while we was on the 3rd although not a major problem but still a bit of a inconvienince, we did book a table for dinner but soon changed our mind when we see the menu there was harly any thing on it that looked or sounded nice. once up in our room the first thing we noticed was the sixe it was tiny hardly any room left once the beds had been put up for the kids, amd the master bed well that was terrible the noise it made was very loud just sitting on it was noisey, we changed our room and went straight out, when we got back from dinner i got the kids too bed sat on my bed and it made exactly the same noise as the first bed did, with the kids in bed i didnt want too move again so i sufferd it, we checked out quite early the next morning and told the receptionist about the bed and she just said "well the beds are new, i'll get someone too look at them".
Not the best Premier inn I have stayed in.

Room Tip: dont stay here if you are a family off four and bring ear plugs if you fidget in the night as the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing