We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest welcome ever....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dorchester Premier Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

When we eventually found the Premier Inn (look out for the signs posted around Dorchester South train station) we experienced the friendliest welcome I can remember.

It's located just across the road from Dorchester South station. There's a lot of renovation works going on in the immediate area at the moment. There's several new shops and restaurants just around the corner and the town centre is only about a ten minute walk away.

Check in was quick and efficient and we were given directions to our room and a lot of other information about the hotel including the restaurant, breakfast times and general facilities.

Every time we walked in or out of the reception area, someone said hello.

The room was nice and large with plenty of room for everything.

This Premier Inn is quite new and this is reflected in the internal decoration and cleanliness.

A great Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleferrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Dorchester Premier Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

It was wonderful to read your review and I am thrilled you all had a brilliant stay. We are certainly very proud of our friendly team and it was great to read that you found this during your stay. It would be fantastic to welcome you back again and feel free to get in touch if there is anything I can do for you before your next visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. (OpsManager.dorchester@whitbread.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

A brand new hotel in a new development, so as you would expect nice accommodation. I didn't eat at their new restaurant attempt (what happened to Table Table then?)but ti was mostly Italian which is a bit unfortunate as Pizza Express is round the corner. The entrance is a bit difficult to find but otherwise all fine if you can get a £61 rate as I did mid week.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMickell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

They let us park under the hotel for no extra charge, the room was big and clean and quiet. There's a really fun fountain around the corner and places to eat too.

The only problem was it took quite a long time to check in and my daughter insisted on sleeping in the bed so I ended up on the floor!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great staff,brilliant rooms and great breakfast.Right beside bars restauraunts,train,cinema and lots more. Some car parking problems but staff will direct you on this.Friendly staff and cleanliness was best I have come across.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin162010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A very warm welcome from the staff, who showed us to our very comfortable room. Excellent parking too. Breakfast was well displayed which was on a help yourself basis.
Checkout in the morning was quick and efficient




  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Excellent PI, adjacent to Dorchester south station, new shopping/restaurant area and 10 min walk to town centre. Great experience - fun staff, new clean rooms, nice communal areas. Two minor issues - you can hear this constant grumbling noise (i believe the generator) even on 4th floor and the lifts are a little temperamental so we used the stairs where we could. Everything else faultless.

Room Tip: Internal courtyard room was quiet at the weekend although some building work started on monday morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BournemouthCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

As one other reviewer said, it hasn't been open long, so there are bound to be "teething problems" Parking is available, although limited for the time being, but you can drop off and pick up outside the hotel entrance. I was confused because I couldn't find the entrance to the hotel in the first place, you have to drive round to the back to find the front, so to speak. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Rooms are clean, neat and tidy, beds are as comfortable as advertised, as are the pillows. Breakfast times are from 06.30 to 10.30, which is great if you are tired and want a long lie-in, it is just standard hotel chain "help-yourself" fare, but you can eat as much as you want.
I did opt to eat at the hotel restaurant in the evening, they currently offer a very limited Italian menu, so if you don't like garlic, nuts, or olives I would suggest eating elsewhere. Avoid the prawn cocktail.

Room Tip: Currently most rooms overlook a building site, there is one lift available for every floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
162 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
116 reviews
7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorchester Premier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester Premier Inn

Address: 5 Pope Street | Brewery Square, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: £44 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Premier Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. Please note that our car parking is first come first served and limited spacing, park outside reception on arrival and reception can assist you further. Accessible rooms have a low bath with support. Wet rooms with a walk in shower can be allocated on request. Please contact reception with your booking number should you require a wet room. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Dorchester Premier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Premier Inn Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing