We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Nighter.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Good hotel with excellent Wheelchair Access, good size rooms, only down bit was that the bed was too hard but that is a personal preference.
Did not have any meals but menu had a good choice.
Would recomend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraWildcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and I am pleased that you had a great stay with us. Premier Inn are pleased to be able to offer Good sized rooms and I note that you found the Wheelchair access excellent. I hope you had a wonderful time in Dorchester and that you'll come back to visit us again soon. Please feel free to get in touch with me if you have any requests or questions before your next stay. Kind regards, Claire Wilson, Ops Manager.dorchester@whitbread.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked two rooms for a family weekend away.
Arrived at reception at 3pm nobody there...........waited......waited......someone from the restaurant said that you book yourself in, ok after a while of the slow and laborious screen done that, now what?
Oh yeah we need a key!
So with no one about, then just like Mr Benn (old kids programme) some body appears!
So we eventually get a key and after the ridiculous lift get to our room.
If you want the advertised free wi-fi yes it's free for 30 mins then £3!!! That's not free then is it!
The beds advertised as the best ever luxury are basically crap! You would feel more comfortable on a stable floor! Really!
On check out again not a soul in sight, other people waiting at reception too, no one!
Basically a joke! How can you run a hotel with NO staff!? Pathetic.

Room Tip: Try another hotel! One with some staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sid4u1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and review. I am disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us, our team are always around as we have a 24hr team in place, although I gather it was quite a busy breakfast when you checked out. I note that when you checked in, there were a number of check ins happening and the team did their best to try and get everyone checked in as quick as they could. I know that we have contacted you and you have received a refund as you did not enjoy your stay, if however, we can be of any further help or we can assist you in anyway on your next visit to Dorchester, please do email me on OpsManager.dorchester@whitbread.com Thank you for your time and custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked 2 rooms at the hotel (for a good price booking in advance). Finding the hotel was a bit of a nightmare; the address provided is not recognisable by Google Maps (Pope street). There is no reference to the Premier Inn as being behind the cinema (on the main road). Even turning up the side road to the station, there is no sign other than a tiny reference on a building which in the dark is difficult to see. Be warned. Parking was provided in the underground car park at no charge (previous reviews suggest a £2 was charged). However, the parking slot allocated to me was not empty! The rooms are standard Premier Inn rooms (big and comfortable). BUT no soap in the bathroom - this is inexcusable. Clearly it hadn't been checked when the room was cleaned. There are the usual tea/coffee facilities but no decaff coffee and we had to go back to reception to ask (surely, a mixture is provided of caff/decaff as per other establishments). Finally, the toilet seat was loose. All in all, inexpensive but lacking attention to detail. The soap issue is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your review, it was disappointing to read that you felt we were not up to our usual par of outstanding service and please be assured that I will discuss your feedback with our Management Team. Due to us being in a new development, some Sat Nav’s do not pick up our postcode easily, so we are in the process of having new signage put up just outside the complex, this will help our guest’s locate us in the new complex much more easily. We do not charge for Car Parking, it is up to our guest’s whether they choose to donate to our fantastic charity of Great Ormond Street, Premier Inn are proud to be supporting Great Ormond Street, so all we ask if you wish to donate, please donate to GOSH. We supply Tea/Coffee facilities in the room, we have decaff coffee downstairs and the team can get any of that for you at any time, please feel free to ask. I have also passed your feedback over to the Housekeeping team, they will be shocked to learn of the soap issue you experienced and this led to your disappointment. In view of your disappointment, please email me Opsmanager.dorchester@whitbread.com to discuss this further, Kind Regards, Claire Wilson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Arrived with the family for an overnight around 5.30pm. Hotel is relatively new I think and was in very good condition. Room was spotless and bathroom the same. Staff were all very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for submitting your wonderful review, it was an absolute pleasure to read and I am delighted that you had a brilliant stay with us. Our Team Members really make Dorchester Premier Inn special, they go out of their way to make all of our guests feel brilliant. I will be giving your feedback to the Housekeeping team who work tirelessly to ensure that all rooms are spotless. Many thanks for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Claire Wilson, OpsManager.dorchester@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It is a new clean hotel in a great location. So much so I WILL use it again. What you need to know. The parking is underground and hidden. It is allocated parking that is not free. You have to pay £2 to a charity that you have not chosen and indeed may not even rate. (charity should be a choice not a bribe!!)
The staff do not man reception. You have to book yourself in... If you don't know how you will need to find someone to help. Good luck....
The restaurant is dead... The waiter goes into the on display kitchen to help the chef... uses the hands that just took your order to touch your breadsticks to put into an oven that then burns the bottom of them... don't worry they place them on the plate so you won't notice!
There is very little phone signal or 3g in the hotel... I wonder if this is done to make you buy wifi?
Then there is the lift... you have to wave your card over a thing that makes the lift work but there is no one at the desk to explain this and no notices.... so good luck!
then on exiting the underground carpark.... there are no signs to tell you where to go.... you MUST go out the in..... its a risk... Good luck.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and I am sorry we did not live up to our usual high standard during your stay. You are correct in saying that we have Quick and Easy check In machines, we also have the team that are able to check you in at any time of the day or night, we just to like to be able to offer the choice. As we are a new hotel, we have a team on shift who are completely multi skilled so they support both reception and Food and Beverage departments, however I note your comments regarding the waiter and I have passed this feedback onto the Team Leaders for them to instigate re-training. In regards to the lift, due to our location in a complex, security is our biggest priority for the guests, so we have security access to all areas of the hotel, this is why you have to use your key in the lifts and corridors, this should have been explained to you on arrival, I again will pass this feedback on. With regards to parking, yes we have a limited underground car park that we alloacte on arrival, it is free of charge, we do not charge for this. We are trying to raise as much money as possible for Great Ormond Hospital, but I can assure you we do not tell our guests to pay, this is simply a donation request. I thank you for your feedback, it makes us a better brand when we receive feedback as it helps us improve on any issues that our guest’s experience throughout their stay. Kind Regards, Claire Wilson, Opsmanager.dorchester@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a find. We stayed here for a family birthday in Dorchester. The Inn is very central in town, part of the Brewery district which is being wonderfully developed. The facilities were excellent, staff really friendly, when we all came back from our meal the bar staff were more than willing to keep the drinks coming in a very comfortable bar area-- you don't usually get that in a budget hotel. Definitely stay again to explore the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enidmpheasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was an absolute pleasure to read and I am delighted that you had a brilliant stay with us. My Team really make Dorchester Premier Inn special, they go out of their way to make all of our guests feel brilliant. We're very fortunate to be located in a new complex built on the Old Brewery that is currently being developed, we are also lucky in the fact that we have much more to be developed around us. I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the future Thank you again for your review, Kind regards, Claire Wilson, Opsmanager.dorchester@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Warm, friendly staff, great location, very clean and tidy (still relatively new) - excellent staff dealt quickly and efficiently with an issue that arose during our stay. Can't fault this hotel (apart from confusing sign for pre-booked parking when I checked beforehand and there is not pre-booked parking available)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasyuk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
115 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Address: 5 Pope Street | Brewery Square, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: £46 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing