We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right hotel - wrong location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This is the first Premier Inn I have given 2 stars to, I was in a van and couldnt use the hotels underground parking which as it turned out was a good thing as customers at reception were complaining about it, so parked 5 minutes walk away, the rooms were the usual premier inn rooms which never change - but the restaurant.... I counted less than 10 customers, yet the hotel receptionist was having to help in the kitchen. The menu has a very minimal choice, some of which wasnt even available. Very poor considering the number of restaurants next door, I can only recommend this hotel to people that dont drive here and arent hungry, otherwise avoid if it can be helped. Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kra1gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your open and honest review following your stay, it was really disappointing to read that you felt let down by our Car Park, we always try to advise any vans that are bigger than a transit van, to park in the car park situated just around the corner, this is due to the height restriction of the underground car park. I was also saddened to hear that we also let you down in our restaurant, we are in the process of changing our menu to a brand new Thyme Menu rather than the Italian, so we are adjusting stock levels ready for the 18th March, however this should have been clearly communicated to you at dinner. The Exciting new Menu will offer a more exciting choice to our guests from this week so we hope we can improve on the experience. In light of your disappointment, could you please contact me directly, Kind Regards, Claire, OpsManager.dorchester@premierinn.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

New Hotel in the centre of Dorchester. Perfect to leave the car behind and soak up the local bars and restaurants. The décor was new, modern and clean and located within the new Brewery Square which has all the usual trappings of cinema and endless Italian food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a glowing review, it’s always lovely to hear if our guest’s enjoyed our Brand New Hotel here in Dorchester, which will be even more fantastic once the development is fully completed. I hope you had a pleasant journey home and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Claire, OpsManager.dorchester@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Parking was a initial problem due to works takibg pkace round the hotel & with their small underground car park being full.With all due fairness hotel management did phone before travelling to advice us of alternative parking which was 5 mins wLk away & at the cost to us of £2.
Hotel staff were very friendly & cooperative & hotel well situated to the centre of town.The hotel is quite new so very modern & clean.Bedroom roomy & up to high standard, however new posture matresses not in situ & found bed very hard. Tea & Coffee available but as a coupke only 2 welcoming tea bags, so nothing for the following morning?
Breakfast at 8.15am was self service & sadly tepid, but may be serving chef needs to keep his eye on the ball & check temp occasionally.......we should have really brought this to the attention of breakfast receptionist but did bring the matter of an uncomfortable night's sleep to tge Mangeress on checking out.She was very apologetic, assured us the new mattresses were being installed gradually into all Inns & promply appreciated our comments & refunded our stay. VERY IMPRESSED THIS COMPANY AT LEAST LIVES UP TO RECTIFYING GENUINE CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS WHERE IT HAS PROMISED TO DO SO!..We will not stay in any other travel lodge/B&B other than.Premier if we can help it...you cant beat the awards they have recieved.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your review and I'm pleased that I was able to assist with your feedback personally on check out. I value feedback from our guest’s as it shows that we are committed at every stage of our guarantee. I am also pleased that Premier Inn is still your No: 1 Choice for accommodation, and please continue to spread the word. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind regards, Claire, OpsManager.dorchester@premierinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent value new hotel very clean well positioned and exceptional customer service from all staff the room was very clean and very good breakfast stayed with a young family and all enjoyed the short break

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 637RobD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a Trip Advisor review, it is very much appreciated and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to read that you had a great Breakfast and a very clean room. I am pleased that the Team ensured you were well looked after. I hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again soon. Kind regards, Claire, OpsManager.dorchester@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with family. The rooms were perfect, very clean and you couldn't hear any noise from any other rooms or outside!!
Had a slight issue being given a double room instead of a twin, however the staff were quick to bring up a spare duvet and were helpful in any queries we had.
We didn't eat at the premier inn, instead opting for a nice hearty meal at a pub (The Junction) 5 mins walk away, and breakfast at the cafe next to the pub.
We arrived on a Friday and left on Saturday and had no issues with staff. Even if there are no staff there is a self service check in where you can check in and get a parking space - which the staff used anyway when we arrived.
The hotel is also completely secure so no worries there.

If you are expecting a view then you may be disappointed as we overlooked a building site, however this didn't bother us as we were there to sleep.
Overall a very nice stay :-)

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank KatieRxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a Trip Advisor review, it is very much appreciated and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to read that you had a great nights sleep and that our Team Members ensured you were well looked after. I hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again soon and see the new development completely finished. Kind Regards, Claire Wilson, Operations Manager, OpsManager.dorchester@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Good hotel with excellent Wheelchair Access, good size rooms, only down bit was that the bed was too hard but that is a personal preference.
Did not have any meals but menu had a good choice.
Would recomend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraWildcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and I am pleased that you had a great stay with us. Premier Inn are pleased to be able to offer Good sized rooms and I note that you found the Wheelchair access excellent. I hope you had a wonderful time in Dorchester and that you'll come back to visit us again soon. Please feel free to get in touch with me if you have any requests or questions before your next stay. Kind regards, Claire Wilson, Ops Manager.dorchester@whitbread.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked two rooms for a family weekend away.
Arrived at reception at 3pm nobody there...........waited......waited......someone from the restaurant said that you book yourself in, ok after a while of the slow and laborious screen done that, now what?
Oh yeah we need a key!
So with no one about, then just like Mr Benn (old kids programme) some body appears!
So we eventually get a key and after the ridiculous lift get to our room.
If you want the advertised free wi-fi yes it's free for 30 mins then £3!!! That's not free then is it!
The beds advertised as the best ever luxury are basically crap! You would feel more comfortable on a stable floor! Really!
On check out again not a soul in sight, other people waiting at reception too, no one!
Basically a joke! How can you run a hotel with NO staff!? Pathetic.

Room Tip: Try another hotel! One with some staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sid4u1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and review. I am disappointed that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us, our team are always around as we have a 24hr team in place, although I gather it was quite a busy breakfast when you checked out. I note that when you checked in, there were a number of check ins happening and the team did their best to try and get everyone checked in as quick as they could. I know that we have contacted you and you have received a refund as you did not enjoy your stay, if however, we can be of any further help or we can assist you in anyway on your next visit to Dorchester, please do email me on OpsManager.dorchester@whitbread.com Thank you for your time and custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
165 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
116 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester

Address: 5 Pope Street | Brewery Square, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. Please note that our car parking is first come first served and limited spacing, park outside reception on arrival and reception can assist you further. Accessible rooms have a low bath with support. Wet rooms with a walk in shower can be allocated on request. Please contact reception with your booking number should you require a wet room. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing