We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Probably the best hotel I've stayed at for room, food and service. Particularly good value was the "Meal Deal" - dinner + full breakfast for £22.95. If bought separately would have been well over £30.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    284
    80
    27
    19
See reviews for
320
314
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

All of the above. Book in advance for a very clean hotel, (although it's new), service was first class at reception, rooms were comfortable, bed great, overall well recommended.
There is a restaurant, although we had bookings elsewhere, it was well organised, we did have a drink in the bar area in the evening (partially due to the great reception we received upon check-in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markelock1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A good place to stay for short visits to Hardy country for some walking and sightseeing. Comfortable and modern, yes there are check in machines but we did'nt need to use them as staff were on hand too. It was celebrating one year of business while we were there. Staff friendly and helpful and the basement car parking works fine and is a nice touch for a Premier Inn. Breakfast was good, usual choice and served in the restaurant which has a nice open view back into the kitchen. As it's right in the middle of the new Brewery Square development there's a choice of good eating places within yards so you can vary your eating choice. We even fitted in a rare trip to the cinema, which is also on the spot - two premium seats on a Tuesday evening for a total cost of just £8 - amazing! It's easy to walk into town for the shops, Hardy's Cottage and his Dorchester home at Max Gate are very near by car, Golden Cap - place for a great walk - is an easy car journey away. And take a short detour on the way back and form your own impressions of HRH's Poundbury! Only a slight problem with the shower flow stopped it getting top marks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here about 6 months ago and were impressed with it then. It is a new hotel on the old brewery site which is in the process of being turned into quite a stylish shopping / eating area.

Staff, like last time were excellent, rooms very clean and what you would expect from a fairly new property. Ask for the underground car park, keeps your car safe and there is no charge.

For £29 well worth it, will definetly visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybottom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The location is the reason I choice it and the price is reasonable as well. Good double bed room and clean and cosy. BTW, I lost my ear ring and the kindly stuff just send back them for me. They are not expensive but very memorable for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xchen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Well thank you for great feedback, I am so pleased that the team delivered back your earrings, I know they take pride in getting it right for our guests, I will be sure to share this review with them at our weekly meeting. We do hope you come back and visit us soon.
Kind Regards, Claire, Operations Manager, Dorchester Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
484 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at the Dorchester Premier Inn for three nights (Monday to Thursday).

Arrival was by train. The hotel is 50 yards from Dorchester South station (for Southampton & London) and about a 10 minute walk from Dorchester West (for Bristol). There's also a bus stop for buses to Weymouth close by and Dorchester town centre is just over a five minute walk away

It's located in a new development called Brewery Square. There's a Costa Coffee, Odeon Cinema, a few boutique shops and several restaurants in the development.

Most times when we arrived / departed the hotel, reception was un-staffed with a sign saying press a button or call them. There are two self service check-in machines which we used and are easy to operate.

Our room was on the first floor towards the rear of the property and was clean and quiet. We never heard a thing.

The hotel has a restaurant and has an Italian themed menu. Choice is limited. We never ate there.

Our room rate didn't include breakfast. There was an All You can Eat continental option (for £5.50) or continental and cooked option for £8.95. We chose the continental option on a couple of mornings and found it to be good.

No complaints about my stay and we would return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Firstly, Thank you for writing a great detailed review about Dorchester Premier Inn, it is great to hear that you had a great stay. You are absolutely correct with our location, it's ideal for commuting in and out by the train and easily accessible by road. When you visited we were indeed on the Italian Menu, just this week we have moved a Thyme Menu that is able to offer burgers and steaks now, its very popular, perhaps when you visit again we can tempt you into the restaurant! I will pass your breakfast comments onto the breakfast team, they will be pleased that you enjoyed it! Many thanks again and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Regards, Claire Operations Manager, Dorchester Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This is the first Premier Inn I have given 2 stars to, I was in a van and couldnt use the hotels underground parking which as it turned out was a good thing as customers at reception were complaining about it, so parked 5 minutes walk away, the rooms were the usual premier inn rooms which never change - but the restaurant.... I counted less than 10 customers, yet the hotel receptionist was having to help in the kitchen. The menu has a very minimal choice, some of which wasnt even available. Very poor considering the number of restaurants next door, I can only recommend this hotel to people that dont drive here and arent hungry, otherwise avoid if it can be helped. Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kra1gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your open and honest review following your stay, it was really disappointing to read that you felt let down by our Car Park, we always try to advise any vans that are bigger than a transit van, to park in the car park situated just around the corner, this is due to the height restriction of the underground car park. I was also saddened to hear that we also let you down in our restaurant, we are in the process of changing our menu to a brand new Thyme Menu rather than the Italian, so we are adjusting stock levels ready for the 18th March, however this should have been clearly communicated to you at dinner. The Exciting new Menu will offer a more exciting choice to our guests from this week so we hope we can improve on the experience. In light of your disappointment, could you please contact me directly, Kind Regards, Claire, OpsManager.dorchester@premierinn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
103 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing