We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nearly there”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, upcoming shopping complex, close to station and buses. I stayed two nights, would do so again. Staff helpful. Only problem they lost my dinner reservation and I have now written a complaint to Premier Inn. Hopefully that will not happen next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mintyburble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that the team lost your reservation, we can always sort that out for you at the hotel, there is always a Duty Manager on shift to help out at any time. Premier Inn will pass your complaint back down to me, so if next time you experience any issues at all, please get in touch directly with me and we can ensure that you do not have to wait for the complaint to filter back down to us. I can assure you that the team take this a constructive feedback and we always strive to give the best experience. I hope that you do come back to Dorchester Premier Inn soon. Kind regards, Claire, Ops Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    287
    82
    27
    19
See reviews for
327
323
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As the title suggests if you are looking for a friendly hotel within budget I would highly recommend this Premier Inn. Its location is central not only to Dorchester but it makes it very close and easy to get to all the surrounding sites and wonders of the Dorset coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyfronts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for writing such a lovely review! It’s lovely to know that you would recommend us so highly, please do shout about to us to all your friends and family! We re located in a fantastic location and it’s only going to get better, as the 2nd phase of the new development has just started. We hope to see you soon back at Dorchester Premier Inn Kind regards, Claire, Ops Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is the second time we have used this hotel, it's very new and modem. The food is prepared fresh so if it gets busy you may have to wait a while. Again breakfast is a waiting game if it is busy you may have to wait a bit for more cooked food as breakfast is a buffet self service. The plus side the hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful, there is an underground car park so book in advance.

Room Tip: Book car park in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This was a really good break really nice area alot of development but it wont start dead early would come back but
The first room we had was the last room in the hotel, had a pair of boxers on the floor and the door was held open by the lock went down to complain about it and they apologise and changed the room straight away,
Second room we had was just as you would expect apart from the lack of towels for two people, they apologised agian and gave us some more.
We ran out of toilet paper thought they would replace in the day when cleaning the room but No so once agian we had to ask.
On the last morning my partner went to make a cup of tea and they forgot to replace the spoons for the coffee

Like I said the front of house staff where brilliant just the basic house keeping needs attention.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good Hotel providing a great overnight stopover for an event that we were going to that was in the area. Found lifts confusing to use, but once it was explained to us all was ok. We took advantage of a promotion to book this stay at a cheaper price of £29.00 - but that meant that you had to know in advance that you were going away. I would imagine that it is best to get a room high up in the hotel due to it's location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moordesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I would not hesitate in returning for another stay when next in the area.
We were kept up to date before we arrived to see if we would like to book for an evening meal (we didn't just so that we had more flexibility to travel around but the restaurant looked good!) We were then phoned to tell us where to park whilst we checked in, after which we moved the car to an allotted space in the underground car park for us to use during our entire stay.
The room was welcoming, smelt nice when we entered and was very clean as was the bathroom. There was enough space for our luggage and a sofa to relax on after a hard days sightseeing! instead of the usual perching on the bed.
Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and when we asked for extra coffee and milk there was no problem at all.
The Hotel is well situated in a new development around the old Brewery with nice shops, water features and statues and some good restaurants all within a few steps walking distance as is the station if required.
The room was offered at a good rate, so an excellent all round experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent fairly new hotel, we have to use disabled rooms on our stays, and this is one of the best, very large and well thought out with roll in shower, excellent cleanliness, a little tight to get a wheelchair around breakfast area, but that's about the only problem. Security excellent with underground parking

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
107 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing