We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our room was clean, double bed and the bathroom with shower looked new and modern. The small flat screen TV was sufficient for our needs to get updated on news and weather.
Breakfast is excellent with a large selection of food.
Thanks a lot !



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for the hotel, I am pleased you found Dorchester Premier Inn was exactly what you needed it for. I will be sure to pass on your great comments to the breakfast team. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel one day soon! Kind Regards, Claire, Ops Manager, Dorchester Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    273
    79
    27
    19
See reviews for
311
301
32
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

First time at this premier Inn - were visiting friends so needed somewhere to sleep.

The Hotel is newish - a challenge to find - with young, friendly, helpful polite staff. Nothing was too much trouble.. A warm welcome - arrived mid-afternoon so car parking in the underground car park was available.

Our room was fine - clean and comfortable. Only downside was it had a communicating door - the soundproofing not good - could hear the conversation in the next room!

Breakfast was excellent - freshly cooked buffet - could not fault it.

Would use the Hotel again. Very central.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with a connecting door unless yo know who is in the other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi There, I am glad you found the chance to write a review for us, it’s great to get feedback! As the hotel is so new and we are on a new complex, we are awaiting our signage to be delivered in, this will make a big difference for our guests. I am pleased my team gave you a warm welcome, that is really important to us at Premier inn, we always ensure all of our guest’s receive this welcome, I shall also pass on your lovely comments regarding the breakfast, the team will love to hear that! I take onboard your comments regarding the interconnecting doors, we only have a few sets of those rooms, and usually it is for families and we open the doors, however I appreciate your feedback. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Kind Regards, Claire, Ops Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, upcoming shopping complex, close to station and buses. I stayed two nights, would do so again. Staff helpful. Only problem they lost my dinner reservation and I have now written a complaint to Premier Inn. Hopefully that will not happen next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mintyburble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that the team lost your reservation, we can always sort that out for you at the hotel, there is always a Duty Manager on shift to help out at any time. Premier Inn will pass your complaint back down to me, so if next time you experience any issues at all, please get in touch directly with me and we can ensure that you do not have to wait for the complaint to filter back down to us. I can assure you that the team take this a constructive feedback and we always strive to give the best experience. I hope that you do come back to Dorchester Premier Inn soon. Kind regards, Claire, Ops Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

As the title suggests if you are looking for a friendly hotel within budget I would highly recommend this Premier Inn. Its location is central not only to Dorchester but it makes it very close and easy to get to all the surrounding sites and wonders of the Dorset coast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyfronts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for writing such a lovely review! It’s lovely to know that you would recommend us so highly, please do shout about to us to all your friends and family! We re located in a fantastic location and it’s only going to get better, as the 2nd phase of the new development has just started. We hope to see you soon back at Dorchester Premier Inn Kind regards, Claire, Ops Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is the second time we have used this hotel, it's very new and modem. The food is prepared fresh so if it gets busy you may have to wait a while. Again breakfast is a waiting game if it is busy you may have to wait a bit for more cooked food as breakfast is a buffet self service. The plus side the hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful, there is an underground car park so book in advance.

Room Tip: Book car park in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This was a really good break really nice area alot of development but it wont start dead early would come back but
The first room we had was the last room in the hotel, had a pair of boxers on the floor and the door was held open by the lock went down to complain about it and they apologise and changed the room straight away,
Second room we had was just as you would expect apart from the lack of towels for two people, they apologised agian and gave us some more.
We ran out of toilet paper thought they would replace in the day when cleaning the room but No so once agian we had to ask.
On the last morning my partner went to make a cup of tea and they forgot to replace the spoons for the coffee

Like I said the front of house staff where brilliant just the basic house keeping needs attention.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good Hotel providing a great overnight stopover for an event that we were going to that was in the area. Found lifts confusing to use, but once it was explained to us all was ok. We took advantage of a promotion to book this stay at a cheaper price of £29.00 - but that meant that you had to know in advance that you were going away. I would imagine that it is best to get a room high up in the hotel due to it's location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moordesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing