We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“promised good but failed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

very limited parking, have to use public car park down the road.
reception very friendly and tried to help but needs training. Checked me in but forgot breakfast and wifi. Got these bits sorted but then forgot to give me the wifi code.
Restaurant understaffed and had to turn people away as they could only handle 2 orders at once. limited menu and nothing on draught at the bar.
Took few attempts to find a clean bowl at breakfast, prefer to eat mine and not somebody else's.
Room clean and only couple hairs in bath.
Good location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanga01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give me an honest review regarding your stay at the Dorchester Premier Inn. Firstly, I would like to say sorry for getting it so wrong for you, this clearly is not what we promise to be! I have passed your feedback to the Team Leaders of the business who will pick this up with the team to ensure we get this right in the future. In light of your disappointment please contact me directly so we can ensure that I got a chance to discuss this with personally. Kid Regards, Claire, Ops Manager on OpsManager.dorchester@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our room was clean, double bed and the bathroom with shower looked new and modern. The small flat screen TV was sufficient for our needs to get updated on news and weather.
Breakfast is excellent with a large selection of food.
Thanks a lot !



  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for the hotel, I am pleased you found Dorchester Premier Inn was exactly what you needed it for. I will be sure to pass on your great comments to the breakfast team. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel one day soon! Kind Regards, Claire, Ops Manager, Dorchester Premier Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

First time at this premier Inn - were visiting friends so needed somewhere to sleep.

The Hotel is newish - a challenge to find - with young, friendly, helpful polite staff. Nothing was too much trouble.. A warm welcome - arrived mid-afternoon so car parking in the underground car park was available.

Our room was fine - clean and comfortable. Only downside was it had a communicating door - the soundproofing not good - could hear the conversation in the next room!

Breakfast was excellent - freshly cooked buffet - could not fault it.

Would use the Hotel again. Very central.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with a connecting door unless yo know who is in the other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi There, I am glad you found the chance to write a review for us, it’s great to get feedback! As the hotel is so new and we are on a new complex, we are awaiting our signage to be delivered in, this will make a big difference for our guests. I am pleased my team gave you a warm welcome, that is really important to us at Premier inn, we always ensure all of our guest’s receive this welcome, I shall also pass on your lovely comments regarding the breakfast, the team will love to hear that! I take onboard your comments regarding the interconnecting doors, we only have a few sets of those rooms, and usually it is for families and we open the doors, however I appreciate your feedback. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Kind Regards, Claire, Ops Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, upcoming shopping complex, close to station and buses. I stayed two nights, would do so again. Staff helpful. Only problem they lost my dinner reservation and I have now written a complaint to Premier Inn. Hopefully that will not happen next time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Mintyburble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that the team lost your reservation, we can always sort that out for you at the hotel, there is always a Duty Manager on shift to help out at any time. Premier Inn will pass your complaint back down to me, so if next time you experience any issues at all, please get in touch directly with me and we can ensure that you do not have to wait for the complaint to filter back down to us. I can assure you that the team take this a constructive feedback and we always strive to give the best experience. I hope that you do come back to Dorchester Premier Inn soon. Kind regards, Claire, Ops Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As the title suggests if you are looking for a friendly hotel within budget I would highly recommend this Premier Inn. Its location is central not only to Dorchester but it makes it very close and easy to get to all the surrounding sites and wonders of the Dorset coast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkyfronts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thanks for writing such a lovely review! It’s lovely to know that you would recommend us so highly, please do shout about to us to all your friends and family! We re located in a fantastic location and it’s only going to get better, as the 2nd phase of the new development has just started. We hope to see you soon back at Dorchester Premier Inn Kind regards, Claire, Ops Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is the second time we have used this hotel, it's very new and modem. The food is prepared fresh so if it gets busy you may have to wait a while. Again breakfast is a waiting game if it is busy you may have to wait a bit for more cooked food as breakfast is a buffet self service. The plus side the hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful, there is an underground car park so book in advance.

Room Tip: Book car park in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This was a really good break really nice area alot of development but it wont start dead early would come back but
The first room we had was the last room in the hotel, had a pair of boxers on the floor and the door was held open by the lock went down to complain about it and they apologise and changed the room straight away,
Second room we had was just as you would expect apart from the lack of towels for two people, they apologised agian and gave us some more.
We ran out of toilet paper thought they would replace in the day when cleaning the room but No so once agian we had to ask.
On the last morning my partner went to make a cup of tea and they forgot to replace the spoons for the coffee

Like I said the front of house staff where brilliant just the basic house keeping needs attention.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
115 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Address: 5 Pope Street | Brewery Square, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: £45 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing