We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn Dorchester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Premier Inn Dorchester”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. It is a new build so everything is clean and fresh. There is a restaurant onsite and the food and service are very good. The hotel is about 50 yards away from Dorchester South railway line and because of the limited parking at the hotel I parked my car on this facility. There is limited parking underneath the hotel so it might be worth checking with reception when you arrive otherwise use the station car parking. The location is the old Dorchester Brewery site and a couple of grade 2 listed buildings are still there to give a rustic flavour. I think one is due to be renovated into a spa so might be an idea to pack trunks and towel. There are other restaurants nearby so try these if you are staying a couple of days. The small shopping centre has a fountain display and large television screen so you can go and watch BBC News, if you feel the need.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    287
    81
    27
    19
See reviews for
325
318
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent two very comfortable quiet nights... very good twin room. Hotel new and well equipped. Good food...friendly helpful staff. Room and bathroom kept spotlessly clean. Easily booked on internet. Nearby street parking convenient but limited.




  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great hotel , very friendly staff and very helpful A nice place, be even better when the building work finished, parking allocated in underground car park very safe and secure , , loved the hotel and surrounding areas, loads of places to eat, deff going back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A good sized room, decent shower pressure, excellent bed and pillows, helpful staff and it's spotlessly clean. However it's totally, utterly, characterless with everything being either white or Premier Inn purple. The tiles in the bathroom are the plain white ones you see as being the cheapest in DIY stores.

A huge let down is the cooked breakfast. Nothing wrong with the ingredients it's just that they're nearly cold. I watched for new things to be added to the servery and took those but they were no hotter. I guess they'd been held back and kept warm until they were needed. The only bread on offer is the square, sliced, supermarket type. And no marmalade! There are little German made packs of a product labelled marmalade but it's what the rest of Europe call Orange Jam not what the British call marmalade.

Almost unbelievable is that WiFi is charged for after 30 minutes! It's free in every coffee shop I know including Costa (same owners as Premier Inn who actually sell Costa coffee in the hotel) yet here it's charged for. Penny pinching as is the poor quality bread and German marmalade.

At over £250.00 for two nights I don't consider this a budget hotel. If judged as a medium priced hotel then the cons outweigh the pros for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Having stayed the previous night elsewhere, it was a relief to stay at the the premier inn Dorchester. The Staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was modern, very clean and comfortable. Car parking was good, in a private underground car park so we weren't worried about the car. Lots of restaurants nearby in the developing Brewery Square, and we walked around historic parts of Dorchester which was lovely. As usual an excellent experience from Premier Inn...We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaybabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

For a short break, the hotel rate is excellent value/ It is very comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep. It is an excellent location for exploring Dorset especially the Jurassic Coast. We will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robhargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neyland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although advised of limited parking on the web site it is only on arrival that you are told that parking must be prebooked. Arriving at 4.00 pm I was told that there was a half hour restriction outside the hotel and that alternative parking was available about 100 yards away which was free after 6.00pm. After paying for parking and carrrying my suitcase back to the hotel I made note of the vehicles parked outside the hotel, gusess what the majority were there the following morning - double standards Premier Inn ?
The hotel is located oin a back street near a railway station with very poor directional signage don't rely on the SATNAV
Also note that the internal lifts must use your room key to be activated. My key never worked much to my frustration despite being advised the staff did not offer a replacement.
All in all very disappointing

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
103 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing