We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice and easy”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Its a typical premier inn, bed, bathroom, telly etc. its a 3 minute walk from the Dorchester Centre, but it is located next to the Cinema, a pub and 4 restaurants. If you can get a car park space which is located under the hotel it is even better. Friendly staff and a great location made this an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildestLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    278
    79
    27
    19
See reviews for
316
307
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good quality vlean modern hotel in a good location, only downside parking is terrible and nearby carparks are hellishly expensive, handy for loads of reataurants and the cinema, opposite the railway station but naise not a problem.

Room Tip: all equally good but book a parking spot early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed for just one night in the recently opened Premier Inn in Dorchester.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms are immaculate. All pristine.
Rooms are a good size. All very well laid out with everything you need.
Good sized restaurant with a wide choice of dishes at what appeared to be very good value.
Didn't eat there because we had already arranged to meet friends at Carluccio's restaurant, which is two mins away.
This hotel is in the middle of a new development on the Old Brewery site in the centre of Dorchester. There are at least five or six restaurants and pubs all serving food within five minutes walk. Car parking at the hotel is limited, but there is a large public car park within two mins walk. The car park is free overnight after 6pm until 8am.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. It is a new build so everything is clean and fresh. There is a restaurant onsite and the food and service are very good. The hotel is about 50 yards away from Dorchester South railway line and because of the limited parking at the hotel I parked my car on this facility. There is limited parking underneath the hotel so it might be worth checking with reception when you arrive otherwise use the station car parking. The location is the old Dorchester Brewery site and a couple of grade 2 listed buildings are still there to give a rustic flavour. I think one is due to be renovated into a spa so might be an idea to pack trunks and towel. There are other restaurants nearby so try these if you are staying a couple of days. The small shopping centre has a fountain display and large television screen so you can go and watch BBC News, if you feel the need.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent two very comfortable quiet nights... very good twin room. Hotel new and well equipped. Good food...friendly helpful staff. Room and bathroom kept spotlessly clean. Easily booked on internet. Nearby street parking convenient but limited.




  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great hotel , very friendly staff and very helpful A nice place, be even better when the building work finished, parking allocated in underground car park very safe and secure , , loved the hotel and surrounding areas, loads of places to eat, deff going back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A good sized room, decent shower pressure, excellent bed and pillows, helpful staff and it's spotlessly clean. However it's totally, utterly, characterless with everything being either white or Premier Inn purple. The tiles in the bathroom are the plain white ones you see as being the cheapest in DIY stores.

A huge let down is the cooked breakfast. Nothing wrong with the ingredients it's just that they're nearly cold. I watched for new things to be added to the servery and took those but they were no hotter. I guess they'd been held back and kept warm until they were needed. The only bread on offer is the square, sliced, supermarket type. And no marmalade! There are little German made packs of a product labelled marmalade but it's what the rest of Europe call Orange Jam not what the British call marmalade.

Almost unbelievable is that WiFi is charged for after 30 minutes! It's free in every coffee shop I know including Costa (same owners as Premier Inn who actually sell Costa coffee in the hotel) yet here it's charged for. Penny pinching as is the poor quality bread and German marmalade.

At over £250.00 for two nights I don't consider this a budget hotel. If judged as a medium priced hotel then the cons outweigh the pros for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing