We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goon & Dark Horse a Honesty Box”
Review of Spyway Inn DT2 9EP

Spyway Inn DT2 9EP
Ranked #37 of 126 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Goon & Dark Horse a Honesty Box”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Dropped in on a Monday night for a couple of beers and plate of grub. The Otter beer drained off the wood is an absolute joy. We both ordered Battered Haddock and Chips and really enjoyed our food which was fresh, well presented, quickly delivered and good value. The pub itself has real character especially the bar which is cozy and the landlord welcoming. Great venue, good pub, brilliant beer and top food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    20
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chard
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Drove through flood water to get to this gem of a pub. As usual it was well worth the effort. Had Sunday lunch from an excellent menu, not just the usual roasts but quite a choice! Had Dorset Smokies followed by roast beef. All well cooked and served in a friendly environment. You'll have feel like a regular so nice is the welcome, I wish I was more local. Very hard to find fault at all so don't bother trying! Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our little gem of a hideaway”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 4 times. Excelent accomadation, great food (breakfast @ evening), great proper pub bar, brill beer, good service. Our hosts always make us welcome and on top of this great location. We are already looking forward to staying again in 2014 phil @ Doreen

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philwigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Dropped in when passing, having walked the dogs on Eggardon Hill, for a quick drink. We were impressed by the atmosphere and welcome and very nearly stayed to eat; vowed to come back soon. That we did, for Sunday lunch a couple of weeks ago, and we weren't disappointed. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, we were welcomed as though we were regulars and the menu was varied and interesting. It was then only a short drive to Eggardon Hill to walk it all off with the dogs! We'll be back, with friends in tow.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidnlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a lovely little pub! A real country gem...the food was incredible. Great atmosphere, great food and great service. The added bonus was the reasonable prices - my boyfriend still stands by it being the best fish and chips he's ever had. If you are nearby - go and have a meal, you won't regret it (I do recommend you book in advance if possible)!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love_to_travel_28806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spyway Inn DT2 9EP also viewed

 

Been to Spyway Inn DT2 9EP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing