We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us”
Review of The Octagon Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Octagon Cafe
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Restaurant details
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not for us”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We looked in for coffee on a Saturday morning, and were horrified to the state of this cafe. There were uncleared tables, food on the floor, and general mayhem ensuing. We left and visited one of the many other cafes in the locality. We won,t try it again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cavalier1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poundbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great cafe.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

In Poundbury, Pummery Square. Toasted bacon sandwich is my favourite in the morning. An outstanding curry on the specials last month.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldEagleDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and lovely coffee”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just down from where I live so visit often l
Always have good food and drinks
Excellent service too?
Fresh water always available for visiting dogs outside
Always make visits personal to your taste
The staff a very friendly will do anything they can to help always happy to offer alternatives to

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing 2nd visit”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Had lunch here with an old friend a few weeks ago, have been unhappy with the Octagon in the past but decided to persevere and give them one more chance as the parking is easy and my friend is elderly.

We ordered fish with parsley sauce served separately as requested and goats cheese with peppers and rosti..... unfortunately I saw the chefs face when the waiter asked for separate sauce, hmmmm not pretty!! The rosti, allegedly homemade, was a greasy mess and the dish expensive. The fish was fine as was the veg but the sauce was very odd and watery looking, made with cornflour??

All in all not a great success. In fairness the young dark haired guy who served us was lovely.

The whole place looks tired, it's overpriced and clearly 'run' by the 'cook' rather than the owner, the menu never seems to change.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EasyTigerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Octagon Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing