We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise”
Review of The New Gurkha - CLOSED

The New Gurkha
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepalese
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Seminole
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The restaurant appeared a little casual and the temperature was a little warm so I wasn't sure what to expect. What a nice surprise to have such fresh and tasty food! The poppadums and toppings were excellent as was the naan bread. We each ordered different meals, and they were all very good. The owner (?) gave us some Irish cream as a treat at the end. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sternsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishdon, Owner at The New Gurkha, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for visiting our restaurant. We appriciate for taking your time to review our restaurant. We are very happy that you had a good time at our restaurant. We hope to serving you soon

Regards
The New Gurkha Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, Brilliant food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have had Indian food in quite a few places from the massive buffets in Bristol (ZaZa Bazaar) to some of the smaller restaurants in both Bristol and Dorchester. I live locally to Dorchester but spend a good chunk of my time in Bristol so I get a decent try of the food on offer in both places, and I believe that New Gurkha is better than any other place I have ever had Indian food in.

Like others, the food here is fantastic, well seasoned and just generally yummy. I honestly believe this is a real find and just shows how bright the future is for Dorchester in terms of food and shops. New Gurkha is a real gem and I will come back again and again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jofrazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishdon, Owner at The New Gurkha, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Thank you for visiting our restaurant. We appriciate for taking your time to review our restaurant. We are very happy that you had a good time at our restaurant. We hope to serving you soon

Regards
The New Gurkha Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the food and service!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

6 of us booked for fathers day for the buffet and were pleasantly surprised. Do not be put by the shabby exterior. First of all the staff are extremely polite and attentive. The buffet had a commendable variety without being excessive. All the dishes and sundries were all freshly prepared with the quality exceptional. The naan bread was unquestionably this best I have ever tasted. Fantastic!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ado1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishdon, Owner at The New Gurkha, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very that you had a grate time visiting our restaurant. We hope to see you soon. We look forward to serving you soon
Regards
The New Gurkha Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Damers First School LOVE the Gurkha”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The New Gurkha is simply a fantastic place to eat. The food is delicious and the staff incredibly helpful. 90 year 1 children from Damers First School agree. Having written stories about Nepal in our literacy lessons, we tentatively asked if we could bring our children along to sample some real Nepalese food. The restaurant said yes... and it turned out to be the best school trip of the year. The children absolutely loved the food (almost as much as the teachers!) As I type this I am awaiting the arrival of a New Gurkha takeaway...mmmm...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishdon, Owner at The New Gurkha, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very that you had a grate time visiting our restaurant. We hope to see you soon. We look forward to serving you soon
Regards
The New Gurkha Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Truly amazing!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed the night in Dorchester and visited here because of the great reviews and also because we have both traveled around India a lot..
Fantastic service from the head waiter even though we were the only people in there on a quiet Tuesday night, very authentic and freshly cooked Indian food cooked however you like it.
Really can't wait to go back!
Easily the best Indian food we have tasted in the UK!!
TRY IT :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank damogoodwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishdon, Owner at The New Gurkha, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very that you had a grate time visiting our restaurant. We hope to see you soon. We look forward to serving you soon
Regards
The New Gurkha Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Gurkha also viewed

Piddlehinton, Dorchester
Puddletown, Dorchester
 
Poundbury, Dorchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing