We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every respect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Manor

The Old Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Manor
Ranked #38 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
West Sussex
1 review
“Excellent in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

From beginning to end, Andrew and Mulu gave us their undivided attention. Nothing was any trouble at all. The breakfast was extensive and beautifully cooked and presented. The suite of rooms and the grounds were a pleasure to use - especially the lakeside walk. This house was close to 'Hardy' history, and was on the route for many other destinations. We can recommend it to anyone who needs rest and relaxation together with a plethora of places to visit. Mulu's beauty treatment/massage were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

What a wonderfully charming place this is. We stayed in the Maurwood Suite..with 4 poster bed, adjoining sitting room...and ample bath room. Luxurious spendour! The hosts looked after us very well....and our trip was rounded off with a very good breakfast. This place is full of character and we had a very comfortable stay in peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed her for just one night in June, and very much enjoyed the atmosphere. We had the Maurwood suite, with separate sitting room and carved oak four poster. The hosts were very welcoming and we enjoyed a stroll around the 35 acre grounds. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and we will come back another time.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zobolostos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Fantastic Breakfast, even have kippers on the menu, in Elizabethan Splendour, More than I could have asked for, nothing was too much trouble, all our needs were catered for, we can hardly wait to get back here in the autumn for the great log fires and the four poster bed this time. Great Value for money.
Very close to Dorchester, the beach, the Jurassic coastline, and in the middle of the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedTodderington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We were warmly welcomed and looked after with much kindness. Owners Andrew and Mulu provided a wonderful choice of breakfast and the bedroom was extremely comfortable. The house is a hidden gem and ideally located for nearby Dorchester and jaunts into the beautiful Dorset countryside. Highly recommended by Paul, Mum and family

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamberlain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2010

I was recommended The Old Manor by a colleague, and thought I'd give it a go and agreed the price. The link i was sent to their website looked promising- but the full reality of such astonishing surroundings and the excellent welcome from Mulu went far beyond my expectations. I can remember when i last enjoyed such a comofortable night's sleep. I have now booked my next visit within 24 hours of my return...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexAmazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

A lovely setting and a lovely old manor house, where you can expect to receive a warm welcome from the owners, Andrew and Mulu.
Our room was luxurious and the breakfasts were magnificent.
We look forward to going again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tibbiekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.5 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#10 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Lantern House
#13 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manor

Property: The Old Manor
Address: Kingston Maurward, Dorchester DT2 8PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Historic Grade I listed family home offering luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. Conveniently located in the heart of Thomas Hardy's Wessex countryside, two minutes from Dorchester in Dorset. An ideal base from which to explore the many attractions, rolling countryside and beautiful coastline that Dorset has to offer. We also have and on-site massage/beauty therapy room offering Massage, Aromatherapy Massage, Facial treatments and other beuty treatments by trained professionals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Manor Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing