We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Confortable, clean, beautiful room although a bit small. Shower a bit hit and miss, hot and warmish!
Breakfast is served in a lovely conservatory but the food was disappointing; industrial bread, tinned fruit.
Credit cards are not accepted.
Caroline is a lovely host, warm and friendly keen to help you to discover the area, the pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thera1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
97
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I'm not very good with tripadvisor. My current timescale for leaving a review is about 12 months after our stay... Which just so happens to be quite fortunate for Caroline and Gordon as we've just returned from our second stay at the Old Rectory, just over a year after our first.

So, first things second. Let's start with last weekend, we had a thoroughly lovely stay with a very warm welcome, a lovely large room (we had the four poster again, one of the largest beds I've slept on) a great breakfast, good honest hints and tips on where best to walk/eat/drink in the area, and all in, a good old relaxing weekend.

We made it down in about three and a half hours from London on a Friday night, and over the last two stays we've been to a few of the local pubs for dinner. Honest pub fare fused with some more fancy frills. On our first visit we drove down to the river cottage for dinner, which was fantastic, but a 45 minute drive back... Fine for me as I wasn't designated driver and slept like a baby.

I don't know what else to say really, only that we'll be back to stay next year, and probably the year after that... I'll write more in 2014. Until then...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ombersley Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

A really warm and welcoming picturesque house.Caroline and Gordon run a B and B exactly how you would wish one to be run.
The Dorchester room was really warm on a cold and wet October night....and the bed ooohhh so comfy.
In the morning we had a perfect english breakfast in the conservatory...where we also gained a wealth of local knowledge from Caroline.
I would certainly recommend the Old Rectory to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kooky1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This B&B is just great. It is comfortable and Caroline was so welcoming. We had three rooms and all were superbly furnished with top quality facilities, bed linens and toiletries. The breakfast was like home cooking- everything was delicious. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. We would recommend this.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyJWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a spare long weekend and were looking for somewhere to get away for a couple of nights. We had not visited Dorset for some twenty years and picked the Old Rectory because it looked appealing from other reviews. We were not disappointed. It was easily to find just off the A35 in the picturesque village of Winterborne Steepleton, about 10 minutes outside Dorchester. As you approach he Old Rectory you drive past thatched cottages, whilst a clear chalk stream - the actual "winterborne" flows beside the road.
The exterior of the Old Rectory is not particularly attractive as it is a large cement rendered Victorian building, but a soon as the front door opened and Caroline welcomed us in
we were in a delightful cosy home. There are four bedrooms, we had the "Dorchester" which had a wonderfully comfy, massive four poster bed. The room was very spacious with two arm chairs, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making and en suite with a large bath, two washbasins and lashings of hot water. The shower was over the bath and not especially powerful.
We went to the Coach and Horses in Winterborn Abbas for a good value evening meal. The pub had recently been refurbished. It is just about within walking distance, but as it was down a dark lane we decided to drive. A bit of a shame as the selection of real ales was good, and of course driving meant I was restricted in what I could have!
Although we had a car there is an excellent bus service through the village, every hour until late. First Group route 31 serves Axminster, Lyme Regis, Bridport, Dorchester and Weymouth - a useful service for tourists.
Breakfast at the B&B is served in the conservatory where we chatted to other guests. The meal was comprehensive with yoghurt, cereal, tinned fruits, toast and full English all served up by the cheerful and hard working Caroline, who clearly enjoys meeing her guests. Probably my only criticism is that an extra sausage or egg would have finished off the breakfast - a very minor criticism.
For those not familiar with Dorset, it is a very rural county with delightful countryside and impressive coastal scenery. On our drive down we visited Tolpuddle, where early trade unionists were harshly transported to Australia for daring to confront their masters; writer Thomas Hardy's cottage, and the tiny claustrophobic retreat where T E Lawrence - Lawrence of Arabia escaped military life. On Sunday a massive storm hit the British Isles which rather restricted out activities and rural England in the driving rain is not so good! Caroline was perfectly happy with us staying indoors all day using the guest lounge or our own room. We did venture out and went to Weymouth - where the rain stopped, and Portland Bill where the heavens opened up again! We got soaked so returned to base and changed. We went into Dorchester for a late Sunday lunch at Wetherspoons, then back to our room for a cosy night in.
Overall then a very pleasant stay, not cheap but good value and I would thoroughly recommend The Old Rectory to anyone wanting to explore his area

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for two nights and was made to feel very welcome from the instant the front door was opened. Caroline and Graham are excellent hosts and could not do enough to help us. Caroline is also a font of local knowledge and helped us to find some lovely places to visit. We stayed in the Dorchester room it was huge, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. The breakfast was a perfectly cooked full english and you could help yourself to toast/cereal/fruit and plenty of coffee! If it sounds like this B&B is too good to be true, it's because it is! Highly recommended, we shall be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Needing to be in the area for an evening, I selected this accomodation. Read some great reviews and they were not wrong. We did not have the best room in the house, but I was pleasantly surprised at just how lovely our room was. A lovely quiet location. We did try the local pub for lunch, but I was not overly impressed. It was under new management apparently. Our hostess was most attentive and explained how to get to a few points in the area. As a photographer, I wanted to have a look around. I got some nice photos without trying very hard. Breakfast was superb, plenty of coffee and a lovely full english. For the price, I was not expecting the stay to be as good. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
3.8 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
185 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
273 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#5 of 45 in Dorchester
78 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Winterbourne Steepleton, Dorchester DT2 9LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian rectory offers peaceful and relaxing breaks in our four en-suite rooms including one with a four poster bed. English breakfast is served in the courtyard conservatory. We are 3 miles west of the county town of Dorchester and within easy reach of the stunning world heritage Jurassic coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Country House Bed And Breakfast Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing