We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cut above the rest!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Erth, Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cut above the rest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

This is the best B&B we have stayed in. A beautiful house kept to the highest of standards. Caroline was a fantastic host and made us feel very welcome, doing her best to help us wherever possible. The quality showed throughout, to the smallest detail (real fruit juices for breakfast and a fab fryup with quality sausages).Even when we managed to lock our keys and 9 week old son in the car! What could have been a full blown panic was very much helped by Carolines very calm husband Gordon. Overall a first class place to stay, we will definately be back if we head to that part of the country again.

Room Tip: We had the four poster bed room, a bigger room as we had our baby with us. I expect all the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whereshouldwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
97
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for six nights at The Old Rectory in the "four poster " bedroom which was spacious and comfortable . Caroline was very welcoming and provides an excellent breakfast .
We enjoyed the quiet village and comfortable bed , it was just lovely and we would use again without a second thought.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Found the Old Rectory Country House a few years ago and my wife and I recently returned for a few days short break. Believe that the best way to describe the Old Rectory would be to start with a blank piece of paper and then write down all of the aspects that you would ideally like to see in a really well run and friendly B&B. Friendly, polite and knowledgeable host, peace and quiet, off the beaten track but close enough to main roads and everything there is to see on the beautiful south coast. Breakfast varied and large enough to set you up for the day, huge rooms with period but unfussy decor, comfy beds and meticulously clean bathroom and shower. Beautiful well kept gardens and lawns where you can sit and relax in the summer evenings.
In the main entrance a lovely old grandfather clock greets you with a seemingly very slow tick tock tick tock. I don't know if this is strategically positioned there but it seems to set the slow and quiet pace for you during your stay.
Not many places would get a high recommendation from myself - but The Old Country Rectory certainly does.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are first class - but to push the memory boat out go for the Dorchester with the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankiebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

A visit to The Old Rectory is more than a clean and comfortable bed and a bountiful breakfast. It comes with the most gracious hostess, Caroline. The rooms are beautifully decorated, giving you all of the most modern conveniences while keeping the charm you are hoping to experience when staying at a historic home. The grounds, buildings and location are picture perfect! But the magic happens when you meet Caroline. She is a wealth of knowledge about the past and present of Dorchester. She came to our rescue in planning our day trips, recommending places to dine and had taxi services and train info at her fingertips. She is an expert in the art of hospitality. There are so many places available in this beautiful countryside area of England but I would definitely put The Old Rectory at the top of my list. I want to thank Caroline, her husband and staff for making our visit a memory to cherish.

Room Tip: Each room is wonderful and each unique. The website has a nice representation of photos and Carolin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband, 8 month old baby and I, stayed at the Old Rectory in the self- catered Old Schoolhouse and had a lovely week there. It's absolutely beautiful! The living area is huge, with large sofas, armchairs and a flat screen TV one end, and a dining table and very well equipped kitchen the other end. There is also a patio area with garden furniture, which meant we could bring a BBQ and enjoy eating outside most days.

The bedrooms are very spacious, and the bathrooms are brand new and have been designed in a way that combines modern comforts with the character of the house.

Caroline is a really warm and friendly host - and she popped by several times during the week to ask whether everything was ok. She really has thought of everything when kitting out the house, which made our stay incredibly easy and comfortable. My husband's brother and 3 nephews stayed with us for one night and Caroline kindly set up extra beds for them, and she also provided a travel cot and a highchair for our daughter, which helped cut down on the amount of stuff we had to bring.

Overall, we had a wonderful time staying at The Old Schoolhouse, and would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
502 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Old Rectory in Winterbourne Steepleton is first-class. The village is quiet and just off the busy Dorchester A 35 road. A beautiful stream runs alongside the road and it is picture-postcard England. We were in the Dorchester room which has a super king size 4 poster bed and there are two comfy armchairs plus chests of drawers in the room..Wonderful to unpack. We used this B & B as a base for 6 nights. Caroline was very charming and helpful and when we asked for different towels, they were provided immediately. We would definitely stay again. We brought our own pillows with us as we never like the foam pillows almost always provided everywhere. The house and rooms are all tastefully furnished and in tip top condition. It is rare to find such a treasure !!! I am almost sorry to let other people in on the secret. Breakfast is served in the attractive conservatory and parking is inside the property on the gravel drive and a locked electronic gate is closed at night. Our ensuite bathroom had a large bath, two basins and a large walk in shower. Also a large tv was installed in the bedroom.

Room Tip: A super king bed is in the Dorchester room. Other rooms have either twin beds or a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The rural location of the Old Rectory, and our room, The Abbotsbury, exceeded expectations. We were delighted with the size and facilities of both our bedroom and bathroom. Caroline and her husband were excellent hosts, welcoming, helpful and informative.
The peaceful setting with the superb Saxon church next door, and the ease of access to Dorchester and the Jurassic Coast make this B&B ideal for relaxation and exploring this area of Dorset. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.7 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#10 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Winterbourne Steepleton, Dorchester DT2 9LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian rectory offers peaceful and relaxing breaks in our four en-suite rooms including one with a four poster bed. English breakfast is served in the courtyard conservatory. We are 3 miles west of the county town of Dorchester and within easy reach of the stunning world heritage Jurassic coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Country House Bed And Breakfast Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing