We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Casterbridge(Dorchester)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Junction Hotel(Dorchester)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel(Weymouth)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
127
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
10
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Old Rectory for four nights after we got married (our 'mini-moon') and we had a wonderful stay. The Old Rectory is a lovely building in a beautiful rural setting. We stayed in the Dorchester room (with the four poster bed) and it was fabulous - spacious, luxurious and very comfortable. Breakfast in the conservatory was great (we couldn't help over-eating!).

Caroline was a perfect, charming host and provided great advice on places to see/visit and suggestions for pubs and restaurants. Everything she suggested was just the sort of thing we were after. Also, she very kindly chilled our champagne when we asked and was brilliant when, having finished our break and returned home, I had carelessly left some make-up behind - Caroline e-mailed to let me know and posted it back straight away.

With Caroline's help we were able to make the most of the location in beautiful Dorset and could have stayed a lot longer as there was still loads of places/attractions we would have liked to have visited, but we ran out of time.

Without doubt this is the best B&B we've stayed in and we hope to visit again very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jspn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Our second visit to The Old Rectory. The house has been tastefully renovated to a very high standard. We have stayed in two of the bedrooms, both of which were beautifully decorated, spacious, and comfortable - especially the four poster!! Breakfast in the conservatory was first class, and Caroline was an exceptional host.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprocketaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay in a pretty place in Dorset. I went back for the fourth time a couple of weeks ago (I don't stay anywhere else in Dorset any more!) - and had another brilliant stay. This time it was for a girls weekend away and we booked all of the rooms in the house - they are all very clean and spacious with spotless bathrooms and are well decorated.

Caroline was fantastic and always incredibly friendly and welcoming and made a huge effort to make sure we enjoyed our stay. She recommended a great place for dinner on Saturday evening and had local maps for us to use to plan our days. She seemed to know exactly what kind of weekend we wanted and was always helpful - chilling our champagne and drinks in her fridge, bringing us trays of tea in the living room and accommodating our manicure sets, cakes and chocolates - and even had a range of dvds that we could borrow.

I definitely intend to be back and recommend The Old Rectory to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank anon7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My daughter and her friends - 8 of us in total - had a memorable hen weekend away in Dorset, based at the Old Rectory. Every effort was made to make all feel comfortable and very much 'at home'. No request was too much trouble. We had the run of the house. The warm hospitality extended ensured that my daughter had a wonderful break away with her closest friends. I am sure all will be back at the Old Rectory sooner, rather than later.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We only stayed for two nights but the next time we visit it will be for longer! The house itself is in a fabulous location in a very pretty little village but only a short drive away from all the 'sights'. The stone house is stunning to look at from the outside and has been refurbished by the current owners to a very high standard. The room (we stayed in the Sherbourne) was beautiful, well dressed and immaculately clean. The en suite shower room was spotless and very tastefully decorated. The breakfasts are superb - lots to choose from, locally sourced produce and well cooked! I liked the fact that there was a toaster in the breakfast conversatory so you could make as much as you wanted, at whatever time you wanted. Caroline is a superb hostess, who is not only friendly but has an excellent knowledge of the area and is able to point out many hidden gems which you may have otherwise missed. Sadly, our stay ended far too soon but we will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews