We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aquila Heights Guest House
Ranked #3 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“home from home!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Right from the start, i.e, the warm welcome we received when we arrived, everything about Aquila Heights made for a very pleasant one night stay here. Very homely, comfortable room (No 3) with double aspect windows which gave a light airy feel, and lovely views. It is clearly evident from all the extra little touches that the B&B is the pride and joy of Joan, the owner. I've never seen such a wide choice of shower products in a bathroom, or jams, marmalades and cereals in a breakfast room. It was much appreciated to have fresh milk available to take up to our room for our "early" morning cup of tea. Great choice of cooked breakfast, which was perfectly cooked to order. No hesitation at all in recommending this B&B.

Room Tip: Room 3 was light and airy with good views. Although at the front of the property, we were not distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LW62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
57
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here overnight in July and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was airy, clean light and very comfortable indeed. We had a large selection of lovely fresh fluffy towels and good selection of toiletries. The breakfast was truly amazing; huge variety and the fried items were perfectly cooked. The landlady was welcoming and friendly and very helpful with directions to local amenities. We will definitely stay again when we visit next year - excellent value for money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a very large comfortable room with a sitting room/extra bedroom and en-suite on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellepye32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

At Aquila Heights our party of two adults and two children under 7 was warmly welcomed and made at to feel at home straightaway. Our room had ample space and was clean and comfortable. We all slept very well and breakfast in the morning was a real treat with an abundance of choice and everything cooked beautifully. My youngest child was very disappointed that we were only staying one night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My partner and I booked for a short stay for leisure and weren't expecting a great deal as we have previously had negative experiences in bed and breakfasts, however I can honestly say that it was such a wonderful place to stop! We stayed for 2 nights and could not have been more pleased; it is situated in the perfect location, staff are polite and the customer service is excellent not to mention the standards within the rooms are impeccable. The breakfast caters for almost anyone and is more than you could ask for! Would definitely stay when we are in the area again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which was perfect for us both, you couldn't fault it if you tried.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed here for work at short notice so did not get an ensuite but it didn't matter - I had my own bathroom across the landing which was fine.
The owner's customer service is exemplary - she went out of her way to make my stay enjoyable, pleasant and comfortable, including an impromptu toastie and early breakfast.
My room was comfortable and homely and a far cry from faceless chain hotels.
Highly recommended and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, had two rooms. Ours was perfect, my mum's was cramped, she had to squeeze round room, and wardrobe was tiny. Also,she was unable to read, as none of the lights were bright enough.
Breakfast choice was outstanding, overwhelming choice, as was selection of toiletries in bathroom.
Landlady tried hard to be helpful, but on a few occasions we were made to feel like naughty schoolchildren. We wondered if she had ever been a school mistress. My husband almost expected to be put on the naughty step.
I have read all the other reviews, and realise I am in the minority, maybe it was a personality clash, but even so, we did feel slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawlishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was my first time stay at Aquila Heights. The welcome from the proprietor was friendly, and first impressions were marvellous - the property is well appointed and clearly cared for. Guests are treated to a wide range of toiletries in their bedrooms (I have never had raspberry scented hair before!), and breakfast is excellent, with a generous range of options for cereals, cooked breakfast, fruits and a massive range of marmalades/jams etc. Most rooms are large.

As a package Aquila Heights sets the standard. Quite the best B&B I have stayed in for a long time.

The property is conveniently located for a large 24 hour Tesco, a lovely leisure centre, and a new restaurant development. Central Dorchester is a 15/20 minute walk.

Only one oddity. I was in a single room with private facilities, it turned out the private facilities were across the corridor. Other rooms were en suite. Not a problem as a dressing gown was provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
148 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
267 reviews
2.8 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Heights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Heights Guest House

Property: Aquila Heights Guest House
Address: 44 Maiden Castle Road, Dorchester DT1 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquila Heights Guest House offers a selection of seven light, bright and airy bedrooms all furnished and decorated to enhance their individual ambiance and charm • Visit England 4 Stars accreditation plus Silver and Breakfast Awards • Free high speed fibre optic Wi-Fi • Free off street Parking • Excellent award winning Breakfast Menu designed to cater for all tastes and dietary requirements - individually cooked to order from 7 - 9am daily • Locally sourced products and fresh local produce in season are used whenever possible • LCD bedroom televisions with Freeview • Generous hospitality trays with a beverage selection • Cyclists and Walkers are Welcome with secure dry overnight cycle storage and wet clothes drying available • We are pleased to welcome guests for short or longer stays • All tariffs are inclusive of your own choices from our extensive Breakfast menu and VAT • Prestigious, peaceful location in Thomas Hardy Country with excellent views towards the ramparts of Maiden Castle iron-age hill fort and [Admiral] Hardy's Monument• Just a short walk to Dorchester's historic town centre, museums, an abundance of eateries and all local facilities and amenities • Two mainline train stations and a National Express Coaches stop en route to the town centre • Easy to find central location for touring and exploring beautiful Dorset's wealth of attractions and World Heritage Jurassic Coastline - Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door, Weymouth, Isle of Portland, Chesil Bank, Abbotsbury, Bridport's West Bay [ITV's Broadchurch] and Lyme Regis etc. • A warm welcome always awaits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aquila Heights Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing