We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Real Find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garden Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Local history and reference books
Compact well-equipped kitchen
Martyrs Sunday Rally
Nearby Athelhampton House
Great Dorset Steam Fair
Hardy's Cottage
Brewery Square Dorchester
Summer time at Durdle Dor
Fine walking country
Picturesque Tolpuddle house
Martyrs' Museum
Local walks
Shaftsbury
West Bay cliffs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JPF50
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Real Find”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Cottage is just as described and very comfortable. Everything we needed, and milk and biscuits too, to make a cup of tea as soon as we arrived. There are loads of pamphlets of places to visit and huge number of maps and walks if you are keen to explore. The cottage is centrally situated and its very easy to get to the coast or to Dorchester. Bob gave us excellent directions and we enjoyed a hassle free couple of days. We will certainly rent the cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2015
Thankyou for your very positive review. We very much appreciate your comments and hope you will pay a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee698
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage in a picturesque location”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This cosy cottage is situated amidst a beautiful rural landscape, perfect for exploring Dorset and its nearby areas. We loved everything about the cottage which was perfect in every aspect. It was warm and welcoming and we felt very comfortable, the standard of fittings was excellent throughout. The rooms were immaculate. The locality was quiet and relaxing and led to a memorable family holiday. Bob was very friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend Garden cottage to friends and relatives and plan on returning soon.Thanks once again Bob !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2015
Thankyou for your very complementary review. We always try to ensure the cottage is well presented and meets our guests' needs. We very much appreciate your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa s
1 review
“Very Happy Stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful time in this lovely Village, The hosts were very welcoming, the attention to detail in the property was spot on, and we needed for nothing.
Would definable recommend this property and its owners to friends and family, and we hope to go back there in the not too distant future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
Thankyou for your positive review. We very much appreciate your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F
1 review
“Ideal base for Dorset”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in November and though the weather was mixed we couldn't fault Garden Cottage.

Well equipped and decorated (and gratefully stocked with milk and nibbles after a long drive and late arrival).

Very handy location too. We visited Weymouth, Portland, Swanage and Dorchester - all within easy reach.

Thanks Bob!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review. We value your comments and hope you might think about staying here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argagnon
1 review
“Postcard from Dorset”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I came across Garden Cottage whilst searching for some centrally located accommodation for our whistle stop tour of Dorset. Luckily this most charming cottage was available. We received concise and clear instructions from the owner on the cottage's location and were greeted most cordially and shown around the property which is located behind the owners residence. Whilst the proximities of the properties are close, the feel of the cottage is very private. Located in the pretty village of Tolpuddle, Garden cottage fits in beautifully with the rest of its chocolate box surroundings. The cottage is extremely well equipped, infact it felt like "home from home" and we were very grateful of the welcoming drinks left by the owners and all the neccessities required to help us with our self catering accommodation. Obviously this fine late September early October weather also only added to a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Garden Cottage. We do our best to provide everything guests need. As you say, its central location makes it a convenient place to enjoy what Dorset has to offer. Thankyou for your very positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne F
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from Home comfort”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and found the cottage very comfortable and the Hopkins very friendly owners. The cottage was very convenient as it was close to all the places we wanted to visit i.e. West Bay, Chesil Beach, Portland Bill, Cerne Giant, Thomas Hardy's cottage and Max Gate, T E Lawrence (Lawrence of Arabia) resting place not forgetting the lovely walk around Tolpuddle and learning about the Tolpuddle Martyrs.
We would recommend the cottage to everyone who needs time out to just relax in place which is home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and privacy
Liked least: No colander and a small frying pan.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We take great care to ensure the cottage meets our guests needs. We are also pleased that you were able to see so much of our beautiful county.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali V
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal . couldn't have hoped for a better cottage.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

So please we found this fabulous little cottage.
Well equipped and comfortable, and a perfect location for exploring lovely Dorset.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thanks for your positive review. I am pleased you appreciated what we provide in the cottage and were able to get around and enjoy the many attractions which Dorset has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;