We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Yalbury Cottage nr Dorchester”
Review of Yalbury Cottage

Yalbury Cottage
Ranked #1 of 128 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$46
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
519 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Beautiful Yalbury Cottage nr Dorchester”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had lunch sitting in the pretty cottage garden here and it was delightful. We had a variety of dishes including beer battered calamari, crab etc followed by a light and tasty limoncello cheesecake. It gets very booked up especially at weekends. It seems to be everyone's favourite restaurant amongst the locals.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    35
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Do not be fooled by the menu - this is one of the best crafted and original Sunday lunches you will experience. Dressed crab that was a delight, a baked cheese souffle that was so good my wife took it away from me. A porh wellington and a mushroom & aubergine stack dish with a smokey aubergine flavour that could almost convert me to becoming a vegetarian.
All this for £27.50 in a beautiful old building including a pudding and coffee.

Definitely going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had one of our best evenings ever. The atmosphere was great. Sitting in the lovely cottage garden for a drink before our dinner and then some of the best food we have ever had..The staff were very friendly and welcoming and they made a fuss of my husband on his birthday. Have already booked for my birthday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything Was Amazingly Perfect!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Small and intimate dining area with low beamed ceilings. The view and Gardens are beautiful and lovely to sit out on a sunny day like we did.Extreemly helpful and friendly staff! And to top it off the food was amazing. We went for a wedding and had Tomato and red pepper soup served in dainty but quirky shot glasses for apetiser (with the best cheese straw I have ever had). Cheese Souffle for starter, Duck for main and Chocolate tart for pudding.AMAZING! We stayed the night and the room was spotless and spatious and had the owners had but alot of thought into small detail as there was homemade buiscuits, free bottled still and sparkling water and even a heat resistant slate to put your hair straighteners on. I have already recomended to lots of friends and would deffinately be returning with my husband!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderful restaurant and fabulous food. Lovely owner and staff. Somewhere a bit special. Would like to go in the summer and sample the dining outside. Will definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank triciac890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yalbury Cottage also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Yalbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing