We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”
Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Retreat
Ranked #8 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Bernard had reserved a ground floor room for my brother and sister in law who have mobility problems. Both their room and ours, on the first floor, were large and comfortably furnished. Bernard booked a restaurant for us, and he and Sheena provided an excellent breakfast.

Welcoming host and hostess. Absolutely central location and parking facilities. A good stopover for Shaftesbury

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryHorse007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Sheena. Our rooms were lovely, very clean and comfortable. Great parking at rear of B&B. Highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hotel we had originally arranged for our group had overbooked, so they arranged for us to stay in the Retreat. This was fortunate as the Retreat was a gem located down a quiet street in Shaftesbury. Sheena and Bernard were friendly hosts and did a decent breakfast. I had good night's sleep and the room (ground floor) was spacious, comfortable and very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed for two nights. Lovely, spacious room and clean bathroom (we were in a ground floor room). Cooked breakfast was prompt and filling (although not amazing). However the host's friendliness and eagerness to help was the main plus. There's a car park behind the building and it's in a convenient location (walkable) for the High St, Gold Hill or the local pubs (I'd recommend The Mitre).

Room Tip: Ground floor room is spacious but you could hear guests coming back late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erato_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Sheena and Bernard were fabulous hosts. The Property was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was fabulous and the township very interesting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stay with Bernard and Sheena every year for the Dorset Air Races at Compton Abbas. They are 2 oft he friendliest hosts I've ever met. Rooms are immaculate - always clean and tidy. Breakfast is always well served and generous.

And there can't be many hosts will invite you and several other (regular fellow air racing) guests to share a glass of wine and a laugh around their kitchen table on arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SundodgingDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Everything was just lovely, especially the owners Sheena and Bernard, who ensured all their guests were very comfortable and very relaxed.

Room Tip: No tip necessary. Just turn up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulWayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shaftesbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
0.2 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Shaftesbury
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number 5 B&B
Number 5 B&B
#10 of 23 in Shaftesbury
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 47 Bell Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Georgian townhouse in the level part of Shaftesbury close to the restaurants, pubs & shop's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing