We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and very confortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Retreat
Ranked #7 of 24 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and very confortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Rooms are among the best we have found in english hotels.

Bernard and his wife are very eficient and friendly. We felt at home at every moment.

We recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a nice stay in Shaftsbury

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
22
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

the most beatiful B&B in Shaftesbury!Near the Village center in a quite street you can find "the Retreat",
There you can find a place with a friendly atmoshere, around Sheena and Bernard (like a family)
The rooms are decorated with taste, a tuch of elegance ..fine, neatly,
For the family in which their children are in the Barton Hill House, studies in the Shaftesbury School this is the best place to state, very close to the them..thanks a lot to Sheena and Bernard !!!Danke, Merci, Grazie!!

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind ruhiger und gleich schön..und comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luciana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

A first class B&B in an attractive town. Sheena and Bernard are excellent hosts. Bernard even picked us up from Compton Abbas airfield, which saved us the taxi fare. Recommended either as a base or an en-route stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FliesM20P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed May 2013, the hosts are so welcoming, The Retreat is so clean, and the breakfasts are so nice. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. It makes such a change to find a place where standards are set, and maintained. Thanks for a great stay, Paul and Karen.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P4aul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We think The Retreat is a very beautiful place, with great breakfast and very nice people! Our 8 years old son liked it the best from our total holiday in the South of England, even better than the London Eye. He got candy and Bernard had a special shooting thing to play with. He said Bernard and Sheena are so nice and friendly and sweet. And we (parents) agree! And Shaftesbury is a nice, central, village.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllesDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight on our way to visit friends in Devon, travelling from London by car. We arrived late in the afternoon in Shaftesbury and went straight to the Information Centre. The ladies there were very helpful and quickly found us a room at The Retreat, just up the road. The owners, Sheena nd Bernard are lovely, warm and welcoming. The building is very old and has been beautifully and lovingly renovated and decorated The bed was very comfortable, and the room spacious with a fabulous view south towards Compton Abbas and the surrounding hills. Sheena and Bernard efficiently cooked and served a tasty hot breakfast served in the dining room with lots of history abour Shaftesbury and The Retreat.

Room Tip: With the view ovder the hills if you like that sort of thing. Both rooms we were shown were lovely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emac2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Being a regular traveller and vistor of Shaftesbury on business trips I was delighted to find The retreat. Just off the High Street the location is excellent.

However the place itself was a little dissapointing as it always fely as you were in somebodys house. The hosts although very friendly were a little over- bearing but I guess they were just passionate about their hotel which I think they kept clean and well maintained. No hot food was allowed in rooms which is of little use to somebody who is on the road every day and doesnt always want to eat out. Bernard and Sheena made it clear that I could eat my food in their kitchen with them but at the end of a days work I just wanted to eat alone, in peace, in my bedroom.

The shower in my room was barely a trickle and water not even lukewarm.

Great hosts, friendly. But just not for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bassitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Coppleridge Inn
The Coppleridge Inn
#3 of 24 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 24 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#2 of 24 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: 47 Bell Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Georgian townhouse in the level part of Shaftesbury close to the restaurants, pubs & shop's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing