We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is a clean and comfortable bed and breakfast Ian, Diane and family provide an amazing welcome. The rooms are modern and suitable for families, couples or single guests. Every time I stay here I meet other guests who are returning for a second or third time and it is easy to see why. The welcome is friendly and the standards are excellent. This is everything I expect from a B & B and more !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenHarrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
43
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

A great place to stay, very comfortable double bed room with an en-suite shower room & WC.
Also dog-friendly which was great for me travelling with a small well-behaved dog. The breakfast choice was excellent and cooked breakfast is to order. Lovely owners who were most friendly and super-helpful. Shaftesbury town is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnie087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This a a warm B & B in every sense of the word. The owners are friendly and welcoming and you want for nothing. The rooms are clean and the meals are great. I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_lynch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Returning once again to this first class B/B we found it had not changed its warm welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are still extremely comfortable and well appointed the meals are first rate and we would hesitate in recommending it to anyone visiting the area.It is our intention to return for our fifth visit very soon we hope.
Diane and Ian are the most friendly we have stayed with in a long time and we hope that they able to continue for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

This really is a fantastic B&B with lovely, friendly owners. You want for nothing.
The breakfast and dinners are 1st class not to mention the desserts. Lol

I've seen pretty much all the rooms on offer and can honestly say they are extremely comfortable and relaxing with a warm, homely feeling. The beds are very comfortable as well, infact I found myself oversleeping on more than one occasion.

If you are looking for a cheap stop over on your way to your next destination, a business trip or a weekend break in the picturess town of Shaftesbury, I highly recommend this B&B.

Ian and Diane, it truly was a pleasure.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank barndog27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

AS i said before,it was not the last stay for us,as we did came back to stay for 4days(i needed alot of Rest/help and i did find Diane&Ian very help full).The room was clean as always and the Engish B'fast (alot for the morning) .I hope that it will not be so long to see then agian.

Room Tip: If you like to go from HOME TO HOME always have a stay at this NICE/CLEAN B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in the family room with our three kids, ages 13, 10, and 8. Very comfortable accommodations, and the owners were extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful. We stayed at a variety of B&B's on our recent trip to England, and I have to say that Ian and Diane were hands down the friendliest innkeepers we met. Food was great and plentiful. All in all, I would highly recommend a stay at Holbrook B&B.

Room Tip: The family room worked well for us. Even though there are only 4 beds and there are 5 of us in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.7 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6 Ivy Cross, Shaftesbury SP7 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbrook Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing