We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port in a storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Port in a storm”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Following the breakdown of our car in very wet conditions, the patrolman kindly arranged for us to stay at Holbrook which turned out to be the perfect haven after a very trying afternoon. Diane and Ian could not have been more welcoming or helpful which made our stay with them a very positive experience. The facilities were very good and the breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Penelope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
47
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I had to come to Shaftesbury for a job interview and wanted to stay somewhere comfortable, close to the interview and reasonably priced. Holbrooks certainly provided that. A warm welcome from Diane and Ian. A clean comfortable and spacious room. Milk offered in a flask rather than those horrible plastic cartons for tea and coffee making. Wonderful breakfast, so much to choose from.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone and would use it again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Easy to find after a day's work and a long car journey, which I appreciated. Adequate off-road parking, clean and spacious room. No traffic noise, which was pleasing considering the situation near main roads. I could have walked the few minutes into Shaftesbury, so that would be a bonus for anyone staying more than a night and wanting local restaurants without having to drive. But I could hear the next room's conversation [maybe they could hear my TV too]. Breakfast included fresh fruit which always impresses me. Very helpful and friendly owners. Yes I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Spending a couple of days in the area walking & geocaching, needed an overnight stop & the Holbrook was a perfect place to stay.
Friendly owners, clean tidy rooms, tasty breakfast, couldn't ask for any more. Would certainly recommend it & wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Late last minute booking whilst out for work.I was tired and got the office to fix me up with something.Better than most Hotels i have stayed in.Very clean,very friendly and very comfortable.I slept like a log.Wished i had to work in the area more often.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just got back from Holbrook b&b at Shaftsbury, i had a really nice time Ian and Di are very welcoming and friendly great breakfast very nice room comfy bed cant fault anything, a good location about 10 minutes from Shaftsbutry

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I had a really lovely time staying here on a one night work trip. Lovely people, very accommodating with my late arrival time. A comfy, nicely decorated clean room with busicuits! And a tasty breakfast in the morning.
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank FrodoLeavesTheShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
105 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Coppleridge Inn
The Coppleridge Inn
#5 of 23 in Shaftesbury
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6 Ivy Cross, Shaftesbury SP7 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Holbrook Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing