We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to eat and relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grove Arms

The Grove Arms
Ranked #17 of 39 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With Nina's farming background the heart to the Grove's menu is a wide offering, sourced locally direct from the producer to offer varied dishes with the ethos of something for everyone no matter what the occasion. We run both a hearty main menu and a specials board daily along with many weekly special event nights supported by the locals as follows: Wednesday Night - Pie and a Pint night £8.95 Thursday Night - Steak Night 2 for 1 Friday Night - 2 fish & Chips for £14.95
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

A very clean well run establishment . Very attentive owners/managers. Ok we had to wait a bit on a busy Sunday but they were very apologetic and always friendly and aiming to please. The food is very good and prices very reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    36
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, MI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The service was slow, but we weren't in a hurry so that was okay. The food was good, just not amazing. It was basic stuff--fish and chips, meat pie & chips. The desserts looked good, but we were too full to order any!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue but this is where it ends”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

3 of us visited after Christmas shopping. The menu was rigid and when my mother requested her catch of the day to be pan fried she was told it was "the one that comes as fish and chips". She asked for a lighter appetite portion of this and for 6.95 received a piece of battered fish not much bigger than a thumb. This was served with tinned mushy peas and frozen chips.
My sister and I had homemade fishcakes witrh a side salad. We each received 2 tepid golf ball sized fried balls of mainly mashed potato with a flavouring of fish. I would have been reasonably pleased with this waliking along a promenade but we were charged the best part of £30 for this with a couple of soft drinks and a glass of wine.
The service was slow and the food was really dull and uninteresting. Better drive past for 4 miles and visit the vastly superior King Arms on the A30 just past Shaftesbury. For the same money you will get superb food served by the friendly team. No comparison.
Both are beautiful buildings but that is where the similarity ends. Be warned.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetMinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

With plenty of room and good parking, this pub was full of happy diners on a wet and windy evening.
The menu, including specials board, offered interesting variations, and all dishes were well-presented. Service was attentive, but not obtrusive. Both food and wine were reasonably-priced so this venue in the village of Ludwell is well worth a visit.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

On first impression - contemporary, modern, sparsely furnished and huge, however, very well lit. First shock £8.60 for glass of wine and pint of lager shandy. Menu didn't grab me, pub trying to be a posh restaurant came to mind rather that drawing in local trade.
Generally I will always have steak but at just over £19 I thought that a little too steep for rib-eye. I chose rosti rarebit at just under £9. Well portionwise it wouldn't have filled my children up let alone an adult. Poor presentation and lacking any sign of a rosti! Boyfriend had fish & chips which was good but again lacking presentation !
Disappointing I thought overall, landlord not overfriendly I actually thought he was bar staff! Great pity as we live in Charlton it would have been nice to have a local you could pop into regularly - unfortunately I couldn't recommend it and won't be returning. Give it 6 months.....

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allyja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grove Arms also viewed

 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 

Been to The Grove Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing