We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super supper on saturday”
Review of The Grove Arms

The Grove Arms
Ranked #19 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: With Nina's farming background the heart to the Grove's menu is a wide offering, sourced locally direct from the producer to offer varied dishes with the ethos of something for everyone no matter what the occasion. We run both a hearty main menu and a specials board daily along with many weekly special event nights supported by the locals as follows: Wednesday Night - Pie and a Pint night £8.95 Thursday Night - Steak Night 2 for 1 Friday Night - 2 fish & Chips for £14.95
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“super supper on saturday”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

excellent meal had at the Grove Arms on Saturday 6th April, well cooked and nicely presented, good value, highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerB730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The gro-oh arms”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

What a disappointment! It looked so lovely on the outside and we had high hopes that this beautiful looking pub would provide us with a hearty lunch on a very cold lunch day. Unfortunately this was not the reality of our experience.
Staff were quite friendly (if a little distracted) and the ambiance was pretty cheerful inside midweek. It also seemed like it was going to be value for money when we saw that the lunch deal was 2 courses for £10 including a coffee but the quality of food was certainly not reason for us to return. The pate was dry and an unappealing colour of grey whilst the portion of fish was small and the chips soggy! The vegetarian 'special' was ok but expensive considering it was simply an aubergine stuffed with couscous and goat's cheese. Think we might drive by next time. Such a shame.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Visited this establishment after the nearby Forester. The landlord was welcoming and helpful. Good variety of food on the menu

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JBW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“gluten free -ly available”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My sister and I had a saturday lunch there on a fresh March day. We were greeted by friendly staff and a lovely inviting fire. The menu was excellent and had a fairly good choice of gluten free meals whihc is superb for me as I have a wheat intolerance. I chose the mushroom chicken and asparagus risotto with arborio rice which was delicious and very filling. There was the usual selection of typical pub grub but the portions were more than generous and very reasonably priced. I would recommend this pub for a warm welcome and an excellent choice of meals at good rates. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Very good £10 two-course lunch. Good quality ingredients, well cooked and friendly staff. Choice of starters, main courses (including a vegetarian option) and delicious home cooked desserts. Cosy fire in the winter and good atmosphere. Recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia6048_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grove Arms also viewed

Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to The Grove Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing