We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel in a lovely town”
Review of The Grosvenor Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grosvenor Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel on the way back to London from Cornwall. Shaftesbury is lovely Saxon hill town with great view across the countryside. The Grosvenor is a great hotel, modern with great rooms. The shower was probably the best shower i have ever had in England. The room and bathroom was very large. The food was fantastic both dinner and breakfast. highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

Had a great stay here. Service and atmosphere very good. Catered for our child with a Z bed in the room and an appropriate meal. Beautiful well decorated spacious clean room. Beds very comfortable with high thread count bed linen. Good tea and coffee making facilities. Would prefer additional overhead lighting - this is not a complaint, just our preference. Enjoyed lovely 3 course meal - better than the Danieli in Venice ! If we lived locally we would dine here as often as possible.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Beautiful historical building, with very clean rooms, comfy beds with quality bedding and receptive staff. We booked for Friday and Saturday night, we dined in the hotel restaurant friday night, the food and service was 10/10. The complimentry toiletries, from a local spa and the huge shower, in addition to the extra deep bath, added to the perfect weekend stay. The breakfast included delicious danish pastries, croissants, cereals and fresh fruit. The tea and coffee were high quality, as was the rest of the food. We would definately come back to this hotel, as cleanliness, service and quality are at the heart of this getaway. Oh and the bar has the wow factor!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Found the by chance visiting Shaftesbury. The hotel is very sleek and modern, but manages to fit in well with it's quaint neighbours. Our room was on the small side, but there was ample room for a television and a a coffee maker and a wardrobe. The bath room was a dream after touring English b&bs with substandard showers for a while. This had a large shower head and you could actually shower without being scorched! The breakfast was great too

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed for one night only, not long enough.

It was a wonderful experience. Great bedroom, amazing bed, beautiful evening meal and breakfast. Loved the decoration of the bar area. Incredible tear drop chandaliers with l e d lights. Where did you find those! Powerful shower and good sized bath. All great.

We shall return as soon as we can

Linda & David Flemming

Room Tip: We had a superior double. Good size room, windows that open (!) Really beautiful bed and bed line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpsydaisyEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked the offer of dinner.bed and breakfast for £79.50 per person per night.We made the booking by telephone a few days before travelling...the receptionist was very helpful and offered us their best room (Cranborne Suite) at no extra cost.The room was enormous and the bathroom featured the largest shower we have ever seen!!Fixtures and fittings were carefully chosen,but probably not to everyone's taste:The double bed was huge and very comfortable.
At dinner we had the choice of the £25 set menu or choosing a la carte and paying anything in excess of £25.We chose the latter mainly because there were no choices on the set menu (although all the dishes sounded fine).Our food was excellent in all aspects...well prepared,well presented and well served.The wine list,while not extensive, is thoughtfully chosen and decently priced.
Breakfast did not disappoint..cereals,full English(or any part thereof),toast,croissants,pastries,yoghurt,fresh fruit.
The hotel is well placed in the centre of Shaftesbury..free parking tickets for the nearby public car park are provided by the hotel...a nice touch that others should consider.
It is very hard to think of anything to say in terms of criticism(other than the curtains were hard to close in the bedroom!!)
All in all a great place to stay and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask if the Cranborne Suite is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I spent a long time researching this trip as I wanted to surprise my husband for our first wedding anniversary. I stumbled upon the hotel via the Mr and Mrs Smith website - and was intrigued by the pictures and the hotel's boutique description. I booked through the hotel direct and was delighted to find that there was a special offer on Sunday night bookings - and it was very fortunate that this included the bank holiday, which also happened to be our anniversary. Because it was a sunday nightspecial, We were upgraded to the best room available, which was the Junior Suite - and we couldn't have asked for a nicer room. It was spacious, and the icing on the cake was the beautiful freestanding bath in the room - with it's very own TV. The room had it's own balcony, with sunloungers and table and chairs, plus an en-suite bathroom with lovely rainforest shower. There were plenty of toiletries supplied (including a shower cap) and there was also a hair dryer and coffee/tea/hot choclate machine in the room. The only criticism I have of the bedroom was that there were not enough lights, which amde it hard to get ready for the evening.

Our package included dinner, so we ate in the restaurant. The restaurant could have done with some background music, as it was very quiet and meant that converstation had to be kept quiet. Service was good, although a little slow - we weren't in a rush, so that wasn't too much of a problem. Food was lovely, especially the desserts.

Breakfast was very nice. For some reason the waitresses sat all the tables very close together, which was a shame as there was lots of space. There was a nice selection of fruit, croissants and cereals as well as a nice cooked breakfast - cooked to order, plus plenty of fresh juices.

We also ordered the hamper - a bargain at £12, it included sanwiches, posh crips, elderflower juice, seasonel veg, locally sourced cheese, crackers and rye bread - we thought it was a bargain, and ideal for our visit to Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove,.

All in all, we had a lovely stay at the hotel - and the positves far out weight the negatives.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juddie_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
207 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
929 reviews
17.8 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
903 reviews
24.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Arms

Address: The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range: £89 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor Arms is newly refurbished, it is traditional yet stylish, relaxed yet ‘buzzy’, and open all day. There are 16 bedrooms to choose from: cosy double, spacious double, deluxe double, balcony double, or suites – each one is beautifully appointed and furnished, decorated in a style appropriate to one of Shaftesbury’s oldest inns, but complete with the modern facilities you expect. You are always welcome, for a drink in the bar, a cup of coffee in the conservatory, or a pizza from the wood oven. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the paved courtyard is always available for an alfresco lunch or drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grosvenor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Arms Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing