We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
273
170
75
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
170
75
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee machine junior suite lovely hotel public car park flights of stairs mr and mrs smith internal courtyard bar area gold hill walk in shower room was spacious stayed for nights excellent bathroom wine list no lift old building lovely town
Filter
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Hotel Grosvenor helped us when our initial wedding reception venue was destroyed by fire! With only 2 months notice they helped us to arrange the most amazing wedding reception. The most important thing to us was that the day was informal and all our family and friends, especially those with young children, could stay at the reception venue to enjoy the whole event. The Hotel Grosvenor provided everything we wanted and more. The venue, the food the accommodation and the staff went out of their way to make our day extremely special and we cannot thank them enough. If you are thinking of having a wedding reception here I would not hesitate to book it. The accommodation and restaurant are first class too and we will be returning there for many years to come as will many of our wedding guests.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minkyegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting our daughter who has recently started working at a local school. We only booked dinner for the first night as we were planning to sample other local restaurants on the second night. The food was so good we booked for five of us the following night before we left the restaurant. It was quite exceptional without being too nouvelle and fussy. Great local ingredients which were cooked to perfection. One of our friends had the chicken pie which he raved about and we have to go back just to have that. Lamb, pheasant, and beef all cooked perfectly.
Our room was overlooking the front which was lovely, very clean and contemporary. It was great to be in the centre of this lovely town.
The bar is an elegant open space, and it has a lovely courtyard so you can pop out for a quick cigar without having to stand on a street corner!
Terrific food - unfussy natural service - great location - why go anywhere else?

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This hotel was our first choice venue but a shortage of rooms made us look elsewhere, however Charlie (the quirky owner) was wonderful from the moment we confirmed that we were relocating to The Hotel Grosvenor 10 days before the wedding! (Incidentally we have eaten lunch and taken coffee here fairly regularly before the wedding - it is consistently excellent in a unique way).

Charlie really sets the tone and standard for the rest of the staff here, they are young and certainly some are inexperienced but this is why this place works and others do not! Everyone here likes being here and it just shines through in genuine enthusiasm for the the guests and each other. We were made to feel part of the 'family' but at no time were the boundaries blurred and no request was too difficult, needless to say there was lots of laughter and we cannot stress how relaxed we were in our dealings with the Grosvenor Team, instinctively we knew that we could trust them.

Planning our day was a real team effort and ideas flowed easily in both directions culminating in a shared understanding of what we would each do and how. I had decided to do all of the decorations as I was totally inspired by the venue (including the flowers). The team led by James spent several hours the afternoon before the wedding in the ballroom with me polishing glass, tying hearts onto chairs and putting roses into jars, not to mention finding all of those little things that I had overlooked and offering last minute ideas - it was such fun.

Mark is the most understated and wonderful chef, he was genuinely happy with our chosen 7 course menu, he really brought our food to life with love on every plate. The challenges laid down were truely exceeded; perfect starters, the best beef ever (everyone's food was piping hot), Pavalova to die for and cheese as it should be, I could rave about the merits of every course and can still taste the food and wines especially the dessert wine!

The staff had to arrange the wedding cakes that had been made by my aunt and daughter - again no problem and they really presented them beautifully. Not one of our (mostly fussy) 27 guests had a single complaint, in fact we have repeatedly been told that this is the best wedding food ever!!! (and they are all looking forward to sharing our anniversaries......) Incidentally we started eating at about 2.30 and just kept going until the bacon butties at 9pm, which really rounded of the day swished down as they were with yet more champagne - the perfect finishing touch.

As part of the day Charlie promised us the services of James the bar manager who is a talented photographer and while we are unfortunately still awaiting the disc the photo's on the website are lovely. So guys when will we receive the rest of the photo's? This is our only complaint!

As an overview for those of you who are considering this as your venue do not hesitate, we were met, fed and watered to an exceptional standard and we have been to many splendid weddings. Be specific about any requests and don't worry about changing your mind as the team are really professional and they thrive when working with you.

Top tip - Firstly before making your decision do a mystery shop as we are confident that they are consistent with our review.

Other Tips and ideas:

1. The day after the wedding we had a post wedding lunch in the main dining room for 22 family members which was as great as the previous day so if your budget stretches it is really worth it.

2. Do take up the offer of lunch and a wine tasting to help you make your decisions as this can help you theme your day, also book a taxi or a room for afterwards to properly enjoy (we had to do the school run!!!)

3. Honeymoon Suite - double shower, roll top bath and fab coffee machine, we loved it, but the room does lack lighting for make-up and hair but I'm sure that Charlie has these minor glitches in hand. If you are staying the night before you will need to think carefully about these things to avoid stress on the day.

4. Get the parking sorted and agreed beforehand as this was a problem for some of our guests who had to feed the meter.

5. We entirely recommend our vintage car firm but not the local taxi firm who were late and lost property!

6. Agree exactly what, how and where the drinks reception will be conducted, include wet weather arrangements. (There had been a downpour during our wedding service and the puddles on the patio soaked the hem of my dress, but also guests were not really directed onto the patio and things were a little dis-jointed for a while).

7. Don't be tempted to 'over wedding' the ballroom, it is a natural and needs little extra to create a personal statement.

8. Have a final meeting with the staff the day before to deal with last minute arrangements and check understandings, expectations, etc. For us we had a couple of teenagers and wanted to ensure that there were no hangovers, lets say our system could do with refining!

9. Throw your bouquet from the balcony it was a real grand finalie for us and the guests as they left..... for the evening.

Regrets - not being able to arrange live music (we ran out of time).

Overall; as you will have read this was a wonderful day for us and our guests I hope that you have as much fun. We are both happy to be contacted to share our experience and answer any questions, Charlie has our number. In the mean time we will be booking our first anniversary dinner very soon! Wishing Charlie and the lovely staff as much happiness as we have and continue to enjoy, we wish them continued growth and every happiness for the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chunkymicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We had high hopes for our trip to Hotel Grosvenor after reading the reviews here but came away feeling a little bit disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, there are great aspects to it and it’s definitely worth staying there but there are a few details that if they get right, would turn this from a good hotel to a fantastic hotel. So, the great things:
- Food – the food is fantastic. Their chef has to be their best asset, we had delicious meals, excellent quality and value. Dinners were amazing and the cooked breakfast, excellent.
- Design – the hotel has a lovely feel to it, upmarket but relaxed, nicely designed bedrooms and reception areas. Beds are wonderfully comfy!
- Location – right in the heart of Shaftesbury, it’s a great base to explore the town and the region.
And the things that could have been better:
- Staff – really friendly at all levels but most of them are quite young and inexperienced and the place seemed to be lacking leadership. For example, in the restaurant, numerous requests were forgotten by staff, we had the wrong bottle of wine given to us two nights running etc. Nothing major but a bit more training and this place could be really good.
- Design – the restaurant design is interesting, looks great in the pictures but when you go in, it’s a really big space, not very intimate and it has the feel of a large canteen. The seats are really low (all the guests were asking for cushions!) and lighting is cool but makes it nigh on impossible to read the menu! Same situation in the bedrooms, just not enough lighting. If your room faces the high street like ours did, you have to keep the blinds down a lot of the time which again with the lighting available, makes it really difficult to read. Rooms are huge but could benefit from some seating and a fridge.
- Location – as I said, great but request a room away from the front of the hotel. It’s not really noisy at night but during the day it is so if you can, might be a better option.

As you can see, nothing major and certainly not a reason not to go there, hopefully the hotel will see these comments and fix these tiny details to make it perfect for the rest of you planning a trip there!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eb02twhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My one night stay was with my wife to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary. And I have to say I could not have picked a better place for such an occasion.

The check-in was not really a check-in at all. Immediately upon arrival at the hotel we were shown to our room, which was a very spacious and tastefully furnished junior suite. The bathroom was a very good size with a luxiurious roll-top bath and flat screen TV for viewing was having a good soak. The shower was a fabulous 'rainforest' type, and was big enough for two (????).

The bed was incredibly comfortable, with really good pillows and a lovely soft duvet. The room had a flat screen TV, along with a posh coffee maker (not sure of its make). Even though the room was facing the main street, and the windows were not double glazed there was little or no noise after 11.30pm.

We didn't visit the hotel bar, and instead had a lovely couple of hours in The Mitre on the high street, enjoying the good ales and views. However, we did eat at the fantastic restaurant in the evening, which provided excellent food at what I would consider to be good value for money. Three courses for the two of us, along with a shared cheese board and a bottle of red wine came to £100. The wine list in particular seemed to offer excellent value for money compared to other 'fine dining' restaurants' I have had the pleasure of eating at. For example, our bottle of Argentinian Malbec (a great complement to the beef) was only £23.

The restaurant also provided breakfast in the morning. All made to order and very good. A small buffet offering cereals, pastries and fruit, along with a selection of hot food. An outstanding breakfast of which there is no doubt.

Check out was fast and efficient.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my closest friends, and would go back. A fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robski_korsikoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews