We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
259
163
74
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
163
74
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machinejunior suitelovely hotelpublic car parkflights of stairsmr and mrs smithinternal courtyardbar areagold hillwalk in showerroom was spaciousstayed for nightsexcellent bathroomwine listno liftold buildinglovely town
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2011

My husband took me here for my birthday and it was a lovely stay. We had been upgraded to a really huge bedroom and bathroom, you could have fitted about ten people in the shower-not joking! We had a nice soak in the free standing bath and watched the tv!
We had a couple of drinks in the welcoming bar before a good meal in the restaurant. where the food was presented really well. The staff are all very friendly and service good overall. The only thing that wasn't up to our expectations was the breakfast which could be improved upon. Regardless, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and if you stay in the next couple of months, they offer good deals.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sootlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

A surprise invite from friends led us and our dog to this hotel. Having sat through huge servings of Xmas stodge we were expecting a paired down meal or two over the Xmas break. What came to table, at a very good price, turned out to be course after course of top London level cuisine. We have since found out that the chef is michelin starred and down-sizing to the country. Cannot fault the food at all - although if had to pick fault - the breakfasts were below parr - kippers over-cooked and waitress complacent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fawltyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here over the new year. Nothing to say other than it was absolutely superb.

We were looking for a place with a relaxed atmosphere, great food and as a bit of a getaway from the hustle and bustle of London. It hit the mark.

Rooms:
We stayed in room 9, one of the junior suites. Great decor, really comfortable bed, roll top bath in the bedroom and best of all a lovely terrace. Shame we didn't get to use it much given the cold! But this is the room you want in the summer.

Food:
We had dinner in the restaurant the night before new years eve and again, on new years eve. On the first night, the menu was simple but excellent. The menu changes every day and everything was seasonal. Both our meals were delicious and good value. With a good bottle of wine, it came in at a little over £100. Most of the staff are quite young but were very professional and friendly. My only suggestion for the restaurant is maybe a little background music would help. The restaurant was quite quiet that night and without music a little echoey. But excellent nonetheless.

Breakfast was excellent. Small buffet table with fruit and croissants and a small a la carte selection with great choice. Great cooked breakfast and again, friendly service. New years eve dinner was great. The place was full and they served a 7 course meal. Timings were perfect and again, service faultiness. Bit of a mixed clientele of people ranging from 20s all the way up. Not a young group overall but otw of people who had clearly done what we had, to get away from the city.

Bar:
Lovely bar, great drinks selection, not overfilled with tables and professional bar staff.

Service:
Overall very good. The chap who checked us in (not sure if he was the owner or manager?) was lovely and clearly cared about the hotel and the guests.

Area:
if you are looking for a relaxing weekend break with some walking, great location. Shaftesbury is a lovely little town.

Overall:
We will definitely go back. Superb break. And it only took us 1h 45 to get home to southwest London. The only challenge is that the hotel only has 3 parking spots in the church car park behind the hotel, so that was a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London1975_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Stayed for 2 nights - any longer than that the drawbacks would have out weighed the positives

Good points - excellent location, food, bed,coffee machine

Draw backs - poor lighting - impossible to shave in bathroom, no on site parking, unmanned reception on 2 out of the 3 occasions, trip hazards (steps), no drawers, large rooms but sparsely furnished.

Overall impression was that the hotel had been in a rush to open and theny hadn't taken the time to go back and finish all the little jobs. thinks like paint tester patches on the wall and back of doors, tile spacers grouted over in the bathroom.

Having paid £175 a night for a deluxe room I just expected so much more - especially when the room next door at £125 / night was only slightly smaller

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank derbymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. First impressions were excellent. Reception is slightly odd (it's a room around the corner from the main entrance. Room was very good and with the added bonus of a coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine. TV was tiny though. I agree with other reviewers that the place appears to be run by students. That said on the whole they were efficient and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Restaurant was over-priced with small portions and staff could not tell you anything about the dished save what was in the menu. Overall though very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews