We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and restful”
Review of The Old Farriers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Farriers
Ranked #15 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing and restful”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing and restful break then The Old Farriers is the B&B to book. Very comfortable room with outstanding views over the beautiful Dorset countryside. Dorothy greeted us with delicious scones and a welcoming pot of tea. The breakfast was outstanding and really set us up for a day exploring the area. Will definitely return and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Request the king size room if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePthfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Dorothy at Old Farriers could not have been more hospitable. She brought us warm scones after we arrived! When we asked if we could store some white wine in her refrigerator, she brought it to us cold with pretty wine glasses after a long day of sight-seeing! Ask about her delicious fish and rice dish - Ketteridge. She was delightful to talk with about Shaftesbury and the area. The room was beautifully decorated. Very highly recommended. Doug and Pat McKay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmckay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

...when you arrive dont be put off by the scruffy nature of the alley or the houses that are at the bottom, as we initially were.

Dorothy has a little haven there and once youre inside the room, which because of the decking, feels more like a little apartment, is outstanding - as are the cream tea and the breakfast.

Gold Hill tho is scruffy, weedy and shameful.

The Italian 'Amore' is a great restaurant, the bar opposite also vv cool.

Georgie and Rusty

Room Tip: left hand room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at The Old Farriers. Busy city workers we were looking for a post Christmas quiet getaway and this Dorset B&B delivered just that. Our room was quiet and clean, beds were comfy. The surrounding area and views are lovely and Dorothy provided a friendly atmosphere without being imposing on our space. We would stay again next visit to the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guessk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our second visit to The Old Farriers and I am happy to report it was a delightful stay. We were made very welcome - on arrival we were treated to home made scones and an excellent pot of tea. This is a gem of a B&B, superbly located with stunning views. Divinely comfortable bed and superb breakfast - couldn't be better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie19602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Perfect location in centre but peaceful setting. The views looking down across the Dorset countryside are stunning. Our room was very nice with a huge and comfortable bed. Dorothy the hostess made us feel at home and prepared us the most delicious breakfast. I would love to return in the summer to enjoy a lazy sunny day relaxing on the verandah. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: go for the super king room you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Comfortable, very clean and a delicious breakfast with the lovely owner Dorothy seeing to your every need. Ideal base from which to explore the area and come back to an excellent nights' sleep. Heartliy recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.5 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Farriers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farriers

Property: The Old Farriers
Address: Abbey Close | High Street, SP7 8JE, Shaftesbury, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most central of locations and a stones throw from Gold Hill, this beautifully restored farriers barn can be found through a coaching arch to the rear of the High Street. Unusual and tranquil setting with far reaching views. Comfortable rooms with en-suite and private bathroom with double doors to veranda and garden. Delicious breakfasts prepared by Cordon Bleu cook using locally farmed produce. Discount for three nights or more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Farriers Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing