We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
116
159
109
51
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
159
109
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool night porter three star good size pleasant hotel stayed one night family room town centre comfortable stay bar and restaurant gold hill bed and breakfast breakfast was excellent biscuits yogurt wedding sauna
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year period and were very happy with the package. The staff were very welcoming throughout our stay. We were allocated the Thomas Hardy suite which was unexpected - there was a lounge area as well as the bedroom and a very large bathroom with spa bath. The hotel itself is a little tired in places and could do with a bit of TLC. The pool looked very inviting but unfortunately we didn't get to use it and because the weather was appalling for the whole time we didn't do any exploration of the area by foot which was a shame as Dorset is such a beautiful county.
The New Year dinner was lovely - the meal was superb - compliments to the chef! The staff who were on duty on the evening seemed to enjoy the atmosphere and it was lovely to see them dancing and seeing in the New Year with the hotel guests.
Breakfasts were really good - either continental or full English.The only downside to the whole stay was the meal on the final night which certainly didn't come up to the standard of the other meals we had while staying at the Royal Chase. Beware if the special menu offers Yorkshire scampi bites - don't choose them, they are awful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase, your comments are appreciated by all the team and your compliments have been passed on to the Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Traditional hotel with friendly helpful staff. Rooms in the older part have more character than the modern building and views to the front. Lovely comfortable bed and hospitality tray. A few issues with heating and water but all dealt with effectively. Just ask. Indoor pool adequate to stretch out, the spa is the same water and temperature as pool and the steam not very hot, but enjoyable. There is no gym. The breakfasts first class, cereals, juices, fruits, good choice of cooked. Lounge bar has open fire and large screen TV. There is a quiet library room next to reception. Parking was not a problem and hotel easy to find. Shaftsbury is a lovely quintessential town with its famous cobbled street -Gold Hill and views far and wide. Lots of historic buildings. Great little shops and plenty of charity shops with upmarket bargains. Lots of cafes and old fashioned pubs. Perfect place to stay for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part have more character. The more modern rooms very standard. If you have any preferences ask and book in advance as rooms vary some do not have baths.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear aloha66

Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel.The Hotel is situated perfectly for expolring the surrounding areas .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business, nice clean room, good quality breakfast, quality customer service. Close to the start of London, easy to get to, great links from the motorway. All in all. Very nice place to stay just outside of London

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Paul C
As much as we would like to take credit for your positive review- I think this review is meant for another hotel,due to your comments about our proximity to London.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Royal Chase taking advantage of their Christmas Package offer. We were made most welcome and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, despite not being able to enjoy their own Christmas festivities at home.

The rooms we had were well equipped and very comfortable. They were situated in the older part of the hotel, once a former monastery and at one time owned by the late Diana Dors, the English equivalent of the blonde bombshells of Hollywood.

Situated just half a mile up the road from the centre of Shaftesbury, it provided a good leisure pool and steam room, well-stocked library, lounge and bar. The fire was lit and the staff did their best to ensure that their guests were made welcome with tea, coffee, fruit, nuts and cakes freely available throughout the bank holiday.

The style of the hotel was reassuringly traditional with waitress service at breakfast which was very good for a three star hotel. Whilst the restaurant offered a good range of food, Christmas Day lunch turkey was not quite as good as the home cooked equivalent but the gargantuan servings from start to finish made up for it. The portion sizes were consistent throughout our stay.

We made good use of the swimming pool which is adult only for 2 hours on opening and before closing. We also enjoyed walking around Shaftesbury and seeing the outstanding views from the highest town in Dorset. This includes the famous Gold Hill of Hovis fame.

In summary, an above average hotel for its class with an enthusiastic and friendly staff, "the Royal Chase Team", clean and comfortable and quietly situated in its own grounds close by an historic town. I will upload some photos taken during our stay.

Room Tip: In Winter probably best to be in the main house and in a larger room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netnoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Netnoggin.
Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase, your comments have been passed on the "Team Chase" and gratefully recieved.We look forward to welcoming you to The Chase in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here in December for one night, for a wedding, and were not disappointed. Our room was big, modern, attractively decorated and furnished, with a huge, extremely comfortable bed.

The bathroom had an over-bath shower, which was not the best but, for one night, was fine.

There is a swimming pool, which looked lovely but we didn't have time to use it.

Breakfast was good, with the usual cold selection and a wide choice of hot dishes from the menu, freshly cooked. The staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Public areas of the hotel were comfortable, but not necessarily modern.

Overall, a good hotel in a convenient location for seeing the sights of Shaftesbury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Polly007

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase, your comments are appreciated by all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews