We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
115
157
107
51
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
157
107
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnight porterthree stargood sizepleasant hotelstayed one nightfamily roomtown centrecomfortable staybar and restaurantgold hillbed and breakfastbreakfast was excellentbiscuitsyogurtweddingsauna
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Bedroom was clean,tidy, comfortable and quiet.

We ate in the Byzant restaurant. One meal, from specials menu, was excellent but the other was more average pub standard food.

The bar was ok but it would have been nice if the open fire was lit given the horrible weather that day.

The reception area, corridors and stairs looked a bit dated and in need of a freshen up. The pool looked good but we didn't try it.

Short walk into the town centre.

Would stay there again for a day or two if in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank AMM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year period and were very happy with the package. The staff were very welcoming throughout our stay. We were allocated the Thomas Hardy suite which was unexpected - there was a lounge area as well as the bedroom and a very large bathroom with spa bath. The hotel itself is a little tired in places and could do with a bit of TLC. The pool looked very inviting but unfortunately we didn't get to use it and because the weather was appalling for the whole time we didn't do any exploration of the area by foot which was a shame as Dorset is such a beautiful county.
The New Year dinner was lovely - the meal was superb - compliments to the chef! The staff who were on duty on the evening seemed to enjoy the atmosphere and it was lovely to see them dancing and seeing in the New Year with the hotel guests.
Breakfasts were really good - either continental or full English.The only downside to the whole stay was the meal on the final night which certainly didn't come up to the standard of the other meals we had while staying at the Royal Chase. Beware if the special menu offers Yorkshire scampi bites - don't choose them, they are awful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase, your comments are appreciated by all the team and your compliments have been passed on to the Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Traditional hotel with friendly helpful staff. Rooms in the older part have more character than the modern building and views to the front. Lovely comfortable bed and hospitality tray. A few issues with heating and water but all dealt with effectively. Just ask. Indoor pool adequate to stretch out, the spa is the same water and temperature as pool and the steam not very hot, but enjoyable. There is no gym. The breakfasts first class, cereals, juices, fruits, good choice of cooked. Lounge bar has open fire and large screen TV. There is a quiet library room next to reception. Parking was not a problem and hotel easy to find. Shaftsbury is a lovely quintessential town with its famous cobbled street -Gold Hill and views far and wide. Lots of historic buildings. Great little shops and plenty of charity shops with upmarket bargains. Lots of cafes and old fashioned pubs. Perfect place to stay for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part have more character. The more modern rooms very standard. If you have any preferences ask and book in advance as rooms vary some do not have baths.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear aloha66

Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel.The Hotel is situated perfectly for expolring the surrounding areas .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business, nice clean room, good quality breakfast, quality customer service. Close to the start of London, easy to get to, great links from the motorway. All in all. Very nice place to stay just outside of London

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Paul C
As much as we would like to take credit for your positive review- I think this review is meant for another hotel,due to your comments about our proximity to London.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews