We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Stayed here for work. Had everything I needed...swimming pool, steam room, Jacuzzi, clean comfy room and a bar.

Close to all other restaurants in shaftesbury in case you don't want to eat in their restaurant every night.

Staff were really friendly

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear James D

Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase.Your comments are appreciated and have been passed onto the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We are very pleased that we chose this hotel for our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and we would certainly recommend this place to anyone. A 10 minute stroll to the town centre. We had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant and only wished we could stay longer!

Room Tip: Room 5 is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Kevin J
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.My staff certainly are a credit to the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Royal Chase and hopefully you can stay longer.
Kind Regards

Lesley Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed at the Royal Chase 19th Jan for weekend meet up with friends having travelled from London and Devon respectively. Good location for a bit of sight seeing. Hotel clean and rooms comfy. Stayed in new part of hotel and rooms dated but quite to back of hotel. Disappointed with staff. Ordered a lemonade which tasted flat (postmix) when I took it back to bar was told I had to buy another one if I wanted to change it.. Come on its 20p worth! Bar manager then drank from my glass and said "it tasted ok to her and asked barmaid how I paid for the drink" they eventually gave me a coke.. Poor customer service or what! Cancelled our dinner reservation after that experience and had a lovely meal across the road. Shame staff let you down. Royal service from the Royal Chase...I think not! (Tip of the day... Don't order cooked breakfast till you've had your cereal or it will go cold cause they bring it out before you've eaten it)!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review!
We have responded to your comments via your first source of complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Bedroom was clean,tidy, comfortable and quiet.

We ate in the Byzant restaurant. One meal, from specials menu, was excellent but the other was more average pub standard food.

The bar was ok but it would have been nice if the open fire was lit given the horrible weather that day.

The reception area, corridors and stairs looked a bit dated and in need of a freshen up. The pool looked good but we didn't try it.

Short walk into the town centre.

Would stay there again for a day or two if in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank AMM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year period and were very happy with the package. The staff were very welcoming throughout our stay. We were allocated the Thomas Hardy suite which was unexpected - there was a lounge area as well as the bedroom and a very large bathroom with spa bath. The hotel itself is a little tired in places and could do with a bit of TLC. The pool looked very inviting but unfortunately we didn't get to use it and because the weather was appalling for the whole time we didn't do any exploration of the area by foot which was a shame as Dorset is such a beautiful county.
The New Year dinner was lovely - the meal was superb - compliments to the chef! The staff who were on duty on the evening seemed to enjoy the atmosphere and it was lovely to see them dancing and seeing in the New Year with the hotel guests.
Breakfasts were really good - either continental or full English.The only downside to the whole stay was the meal on the final night which certainly didn't come up to the standard of the other meals we had while staying at the Royal Chase. Beware if the special menu offers Yorkshire scampi bites - don't choose them, they are awful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase, your comments are appreciated by all the team and your compliments have been passed on to the Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Traditional hotel with friendly helpful staff. Rooms in the older part have more character than the modern building and views to the front. Lovely comfortable bed and hospitality tray. A few issues with heating and water but all dealt with effectively. Just ask. Indoor pool adequate to stretch out, the spa is the same water and temperature as pool and the steam not very hot, but enjoyable. There is no gym. The breakfasts first class, cereals, juices, fruits, good choice of cooked. Lounge bar has open fire and large screen TV. There is a quiet library room next to reception. Parking was not a problem and hotel easy to find. Shaftsbury is a lovely quintessential town with its famous cobbled street -Gold Hill and views far and wide. Lots of historic buildings. Great little shops and plenty of charity shops with upmarket bargains. Lots of cafes and old fashioned pubs. Perfect place to stay for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part have more character. The more modern rooms very standard. If you have any p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear aloha66

Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel.The Hotel is situated perfectly for expolring the surrounding areas .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
447 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
215 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
14.9 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
637 reviews
15 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel

Address: Royal Chase Roundabout Salisbury Road, Shaftesbury SP7 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range: £68 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the middle of Thomas Hardy country, this is possibly Dorset's friendliest hotel. Close to the centre of historic Shaftesbury, the hotel sits in its own grounds with its pristine lawns and surrounded by glorious Dorset countryside and the ample charms of Somerset and Wiltshire. Unspoiled, beautiful counties offering a wide range of attractions plus an abundance of rural peace and tranquility. Those not to be missed include Wilton House, Longleat, Stourhead, Stonehenge and of course Shaftesbury's very own Gold Hill. The Royal Chase is privately owned and part of a small chain of quality hotels in Dorset and Devon. Please look at our sister hotels, The Rembrandt Hotel in Weymouth and The Lord Haldon in Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel Dorset
Shaftesbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing