We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
118
160
109
52
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
160
109
52
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool night porter three star good size pleasant hotel stayed one night family room town centre comfortable stay gold hill bar and restaurant lovely room breakfast was excellent biscuits yogurt wedding sauna
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We are very pleased that we chose this hotel for our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and we would certainly recommend this place to anyone. A 10 minute stroll to the town centre. We had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant and only wished we could stay longer!

Room Tip: Room 5 is very good!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Kevin J
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.My staff certainly are a credit to the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Royal Chase and hopefully you can stay longer.
Kind Regards

Lesley Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed at the Royal Chase 19th Jan for weekend meet up with friends having travelled from London and Devon respectively. Good location for a bit of sight seeing. Hotel clean and rooms comfy. Stayed in new part of hotel and rooms dated but quite to back of hotel. Disappointed with staff. Ordered a lemonade which tasted flat (postmix) when I took it back to bar was told I had to buy another one if I wanted to change it.. Come on its 20p worth! Bar manager then drank from my glass and said "it tasted ok to her and asked barmaid how I paid for the drink" they eventually gave me a coke.. Poor customer service or what! Cancelled our dinner reservation after that experience and had a lovely meal across the road. Shame staff let you down. Royal service from the Royal Chase...I think not! (Tip of the day... Don't order cooked breakfast till you've had your cereal or it will go cold cause they bring it out before you've eaten it)!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review!
We have responded to your comments via your first source of complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Bedroom was clean,tidy, comfortable and quiet.

We ate in the Byzant restaurant. One meal, from specials menu, was excellent but the other was more average pub standard food.

The bar was ok but it would have been nice if the open fire was lit given the horrible weather that day.

The reception area, corridors and stairs looked a bit dated and in need of a freshen up. The pool looked good but we didn't try it.

Short walk into the town centre.

Would stay there again for a day or two if in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank AMM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year period and were very happy with the package. The staff were very welcoming throughout our stay. We were allocated the Thomas Hardy suite which was unexpected - there was a lounge area as well as the bedroom and a very large bathroom with spa bath. The hotel itself is a little tired in places and could do with a bit of TLC. The pool looked very inviting but unfortunately we didn't get to use it and because the weather was appalling for the whole time we didn't do any exploration of the area by foot which was a shame as Dorset is such a beautiful county.
The New Year dinner was lovely - the meal was superb - compliments to the chef! The staff who were on duty on the evening seemed to enjoy the atmosphere and it was lovely to see them dancing and seeing in the New Year with the hotel guests.
Breakfasts were really good - either continental or full English.The only downside to the whole stay was the meal on the final night which certainly didn't come up to the standard of the other meals we had while staying at the Royal Chase. Beware if the special menu offers Yorkshire scampi bites - don't choose them, they are awful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase, your comments are appreciated by all the team and your compliments have been passed on to the Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews