We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Inn(Gillingham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
106
148
100
47
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
148
100
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnight porterthree stargood sizepleasant hotelstayed one nightfamily roomtown centrecomfortable stayshort breakgold hilllovely roombed and breakfastbreakfast was excellentbiscuitsyogurtwedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed one night on business in room 18. The staff were friendly and efficient, the breakfast was of good quality and included a good selection of hot and cold choices. Room was of a good size but looked a little tired in places. The bathroom was more of a letdown, very dated and the shower was not worthy of the name, the water dribbled out and was not fit for purpose. I reported this and was told that maintenance would be alerted, clearly I would not see the benefit of any repair as I was staying only one night. The bathroom would benefit from an urgent upgrade.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank WeaselMcbeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear WeaselMcbeasal
Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel.I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Staff welcoming and available to help. Some decoration a little dated in this contemporary driven world, but clean and tidy enough. No issues with food, reasonable fayre... must note though...Breakfast: excellent boiled eggs - perfectly timed. On site pool is used by public, which can be a nuisance if the mothers & baby class are in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Judy M

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Stayed here for work. Had everything I needed...swimming pool, steam room, Jacuzzi, clean comfy room and a bar.

Close to all other restaurants in shaftesbury in case you don't want to eat in their restaurant every night.

Staff were really friendly

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear James D

Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase.Your comments are appreciated and have been passed onto the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We are very pleased that we chose this hotel for our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and we would certainly recommend this place to anyone. A 10 minute stroll to the town centre. We had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant and only wished we could stay longer!

Room Tip: Room 5 is very good!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Kevin J
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.My staff certainly are a credit to the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Royal Chase and hopefully you can stay longer.
Kind Regards

Lesley Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed at the Royal Chase 19th Jan for weekend meet up with friends having travelled from London and Devon respectively. Good location for a bit of sight seeing. Hotel clean and rooms comfy. Stayed in new part of hotel and rooms dated but quite to back of hotel. Disappointed with staff. Ordered a lemonade which tasted flat (postmix) when I took it back to bar was told I had to buy another one if I wanted to change it.. Come on its 20p worth! Bar manager then drank from my glass and said "it tasted ok to her and asked barmaid how I paid for the drink" they eventually gave me a coke.. Poor customer service or what! Cancelled our dinner reservation after that experience and had a lovely meal across the road. Shame staff let you down. Royal service from the Royal Chase...I think not! (Tip of the day... Don't order cooked breakfast till you've had your cereal or it will go cold cause they bring it out before you've eaten it)!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review!
We have responded to your comments via your first source of complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews