We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight work stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Reviewed 24 March 2014

stopped here for 1 night,arrived late at 11.30 pm,night staff very good, in my room in minutes, room very clean,nice comfy bed,ideal for stop over.left in morning at 8am,breakfast looked very good but dident have time to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normanthedoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Normanthedoggy

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Thought it would be nice to have a coffee at the Best Western. So we stopped here on the way to Shaftesbury town centre. Service was not good at all, had to wait ages for the coffee, no biscuits supplied and receptionist was really unfriendly and miserable, Would not hurry back, and thought it was a poor show for the hotel and not a good promotion for best western.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Sandra G
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.I am sorry that you had this experience at BEST WESTERN Royal Chase , this is certainly not the normal level of service we provide.I hope if you are in the area in the future you would care to come in for complimentary coffee and biscuits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

It was good to see that this Hotel is being looked. We stayed in Room 16, clean, tidy and quiet. The cleaning staff looking after the rooms, were very pleasant and kind. Claire the receptionist was keen to help with any query you had. Check in was very quick. Food was OK but the breakfast each morning was dull. It was better served in the normal Restaurant, but of course, this cannot always be, due to various groups meeting up etc. Staff in the Restaurant in the evenings were always pleasant and helpful. It was mostly Mandy serving us with a big smile. I think the Hotel will look great when the place is fully completed with the updates. I hope that the Hotel will have in mind that they should eventually change the plates on the various walls stating where the Room numbers are, it just looks old fashioned numbering. The numbers on the bedroom doors, gold numbering are OK.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelAngelo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments, I have passed your messages on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

An inexpensive hotel within easy walking distance of Shaftesbury town centre. Comfortable, clean, friendly and helpful reception. Has a swimming pool (which we did not use). Undergoing redecoration in places.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RivermanCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Riverman Cambridge
Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just spent two nights at the Royal Chase Hotel, and as the title says it is probably the biggest hotel room I have stayed in in the UK.
Check in was very quick and efficient and we were offered assistance with our luggage (which I didn't need but thank you). On entering the room we were surprised by its size, the super king bed was really comfortable and the quality of the bedding was very good. All the usual extras you would expect were there in the room, tea, coffee biscuits etc. plenty of room for luggage, a useful nest of tables, armchairs and a large TV.
We only used the pool and steam room once but enjoyed it, however we did notice a couple of tiles missing on the spa and some flaky paint in the steam room, but they did appear to be used a lot.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was excellent, good quality and potions. But the thing that stood out for us was the staff. On our first night, the young lady working the restaurant and bar was very friendly and helpful, giving us some good tips on what to see and do in town. My only criticism was that the writing on her name badge was too small to read her name! Peter took over night duty and is obviously proud of the hotel and very keen to show us and explain the photos in the library room.
Some reviews criticise the hotel for being a bit tired and a lick of paint here and there wouldn't go amiss but I wouldn't let this stop me from returning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank garyandalikaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear The Bear Collector
Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase. I have passed your comments on to Abi - ( the young lady with the small writing on her name badge!) as i will pass your comments onto Peter.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN THE Royal Chase in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Friendly staff, clean room, if a little tired, but nothing to complain about! We were here for a party, if you are staying in this hotel when an event is on, the rooms can be noisy if you stay above the function rooms, but this was ok for us as we were at the function!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Jo L
Many thanks for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
452 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
218 reviews
10.7 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#1 of 1 in Wincanton
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
903 reviews
6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
158 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel

Address: Royal Chase Roundabout Salisbury Road, Shaftesbury SP7 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range: £70 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the middle of Thomas Hardy country, this is possibly Dorset's friendliest hotel. Close to the centre of historic Shaftesbury, the hotel sits in its own grounds with its pristine lawns and surrounded by glorious Dorset countryside and the ample charms of Somerset and Wiltshire. Unspoiled, beautiful counties offering a wide range of attractions plus an abundance of rural peace and tranquility. Those not to be missed include Wilton House, Longleat, Stourhead, Stonehenge and of course Shaftesbury's very own Gold Hill. The Royal Chase is privately owned and part of a small chain of quality hotels in Dorset and Devon. Please look at our sister hotels, The Rembrandt Hotel in Weymouth and The Lord Haldon in Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel Dorset
Shaftesbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing