We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Inn(Gillingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
108
151
101
48
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
151
101
48
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnight porterthree stargood sizepleasant hotelstayed one nightfamily roomtown centrecomfortable stayshort breakgold hilllovely roombed and breakfastbreakfast was excellentbiscuitsyogurtwedding
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Pleasantly situated towards the outskirts of town is a charming building with a monastic heritage, simple bu well maintained gardens add to its attraction. Although the externals have some signs of wear the inside accommodation is well up to standard with a small library/lounge that would not be out of place in a country house. The welcome at reception was delightful and this was a theme that continued throughout our stay, quite the nicest staff we have encountered for some time - thank you all.
We opted for a twin room, the beds were comfortable there was plenty of space and a good shower (so often a problem in UK hotels!) There is a main road running past the property but this caused us no problem. As we were visiting family in the area we did not have dinner but the breakfast was of good quality, freshly cooked a served with a smile - what a good start to the day. We didn't use the swimming pool due to time constraints but it looked well appointed.
We shall certainly return here when in Dorset.

Room Tip: Room 45 is at the end of a corridor, which will avoid noise from inconsiderate guests, it also looks out over the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GibBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear GibBob

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase.I have passed your kind comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our stay at The Royal Chase in shaftesbury was lovely. The rooms were ample in size and very clean. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Our one let down was the food in the evening. Our first evening ws lovely and the food was excellent but the next two nights were a little less good in standard. Portions were really quite large and the choices were not great, a little too pub grubby for a 3 star hotel restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Anne C

Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN Royal Chase Hotel.We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the staff followed closely by the food. The staff are very friendly, make you feel at home and try to help. Very impressed with the breakfast manager who started breakfast early every morning to suit those needing an early start. As this hotel is used mostly by people working they need to change the official start time for breakfast to 6.30 or 7.00 at the latest, not 7.30. The hotel had breakfast set up early and it was very good, thanks. The evening food in the restaurant was excellent, well worth eating here, the chef knows his job.
Rooms are ok but need new carpets, and furniture. Bed was hard and lumpy, and plumbing not great. The hotel deserves better, money needs to be invested in it to do justice to the excellent staff trying their best. Ok for a night or two if in the area, well positioned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments, I have passed your comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I suspect in order to be viable this hotel/spa/local swimming pool has to fulfil differing roles. It's unsophisticated down to earth ambience makes the local populace feel at ease so they can enjoy use of the spa and pool, especially mums and children. Regarding accommodation at a bargain £65 for bed & breakfast it's ideal for those on a budget be they salesmen passing through or contractors needing to be based in one place for short periods of time.
Arriving and parking up requires negotiating a badly potholed drive (inconsequential if in your company van or car). On the way to the main door you will see beneath a colonnaded and sheltered area the favoured location for smokers, witness the ash trays and cigarette butts.
The broad swathes of brightly coloured patterned Axminster carpet & odd coloured paintwork to be seen everywhere evoke memories of all that was 'interesting' in 1960's early 70's interior décor, but there was indication of some re-furbishment taking place. The welcome was courteous and informative although an offer of assistance with 2 heavy grips would have been appreciated. As it was I struggled up a narrow staircase ( THAT Axminster blinding me ) to a small austere yet clean & adequate room. The bed was supremely comfortable and I slept like a log, until 6am..............
Slumped in a leather chair with a pot of tea made repairing to the bar in the early afternoon a delight & those missing their wives and children would have felt at home as children ran up and down the corridor being screamed at by mum. Also the bar itself was obviously a happy & popular spot for families after their swim.
I initially declined to join other chaps in the bar eating dinner but having been too overwhelmed by the wide choice of alternative dining experiences that Shaftesbury offers, a Kentucky Fried Chicken and an Indian it was back to the hotel. My return was greeted by the sight and sound of the receptionist noisily emptying a glass of iced water with a straw and leaving the empty glass on the desk. Classy this place is not. Through the restaurant door I noted just four guests dining and as the waitresses were hanging about in Reception having a good old natter I chose not to be an interruption and enjoyed a pleasant enough meal in the bar. Luckily the volume of the wall mounted flat-screen TV was as maximum so sitting in the very back of the bar I didn't miss a word of a football match commentary.
Traffic awoke me early as the hotel is located beside a roundabout on a busy Poole & Bournemouth commute. As the room and hotel was not nice enough to want to hang around in just for breakfast, an earlier start was decided on.
The Royal Chase does the Best Western brand no favours but is acceptable if you have to be in the area, are on a budget or just feel uncomfortable in smarter places.

Room Tip: There MIGHT be a few quieter rooms if they face north or east.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunbeamSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 01747 853355.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lesley A, General Manager at Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews