We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met up for a Christmas meal and get together”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coppleridge Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Met up for a Christmas meal and get together”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Rather impressed by the Coppleridge Inn. We had never seen the place and found it by looking on the net.
Its very well signposted which is handy as its a bit out of the way.
We booked a room for 10 which turned out to be the "TV Room" ..a very nice room with a woodburning fire,it was very cosy
Food was average,but good for the price, service was excellent with no long waits and very pleasant waitresses, all of our party agreed it was a good choice.
We would have no hesitation in booking again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgebacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    38
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
51
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at Coppleridge Inn for two nights and was very pleased with the large clean room we had, we had lovely views from our room and nothing was to much trouble for the staff, we took 2 of our dogs and enjoyed some lovely peaceful walks, would highly recommend if you are looking for a peaceful retreat. Will be returning. Oh and the bedsheets were amazing !!!!

Room Tip: Room 3, lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Coppleridge barn conversion in September 2013. We will always remember how perfect the day was. We wanted a simple and elegant reception and the coppleridge team fullfilled this 10 fold by being incredibly helpful, friendly, professional and having attention to detail. Special thanks to Sophie (waitress) and Adam the manager. Adam met with us a year ago and has been very practical and helpful ever since, without being smarmy like so many of these other venues! He really came up trumps on the wedding day and showed us just why the Coppleridge is the best wedding venue in the south west (in our opinion). He oversaw everything with a keen eye for perfection and made us feel very relaxed so we didn't even worry about the running of the show, we were just able to enjoy our day!
It was so convenient to just take a few steps through the courtyard to bed at the end of the night - there are 10 very spacious comfortable rooms which the wedding party stayed in.
We still can't get over the great value for money with the very high standard of food, cleanliness, rustic decor and wonderful staff.
We will definately be back to stay again and hopefully another function.
Thank you Coppleridge for making our wedding reception perfect!

The Brinds
x

Room Tip: Room 3 was our bridal suite and is very roomy with a very posh bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Just a couple of miles from idyllic Shaftesbury the coppleridge will give you a happy base to explore the beautiful area. It's not a pin x it's not a hotel, it's an old fashioned inn with lovely rooms, good food x very relaxed atmosphere. We had a lovely mini break x felt truely relaxed. A lucky find!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked 2 rooms at the Coppleridge Inn as we were attending a family wedding in Shaftesbury. One room was for my daughter and partner with their 7 year old daughter and 8 week old son. The room they were given was large and spacious, even with an extra bed added. The bathroom was huge and the views across the fields were stunning (room 5).
My husband and I were in room 9 which was just as spacious and comfortable. There were a few stray cobwebs and I am not a spider lover but somehow these added to the charm!
Breakfast was excellent and the staff were efficient and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed four days and dined several times at the restaurant along with a cooked breakfast each day. We even invited some friends up who loved the place. Rooms were very good, food was excellent and all bar one of the staff were outstanding and could not have been more helpful. The only negative was when the four of us were sitting in a separate room to the bar area and closed the doors to keep the noise down a little. One of the male staff, obviously was not happy with that and for some reason burst through and opened the doors rather rudely then walked out. Would I stay here again, without a doubt and I would go out of my way to have dinner there.
Compliments to the chef.....

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a nice room, we found them most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlebirdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent a very enjoyable evening here celebrating a family birthday. The bar staff were really friendly and helpful throughout the evening. There are beautiful views over the Blackmore Vale from the garden and terrace. We did not eat on this occasion but previous food has been excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunworshipper004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
3.1 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
12.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
2.4 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppleridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppleridge Inn

Property: The Coppleridge Inn
Address: Motcombe | Shaftesbury, Shaftesbury SP7 9HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coppleridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run inn set in 15 acres of woodland & meadow overlooking Hardy's Blackmore Vale. We have a candlelit log fired restaurant where our chefs provide a wonderful selection of innovative and traditional dishes. These meals are also available in the bar & garden room and gardens in the summer. We are a very popular wedding venue with couples being able to get married in our 17c barn, The Garden Room and also our Woodland Wedding venue. We have our own marquee which can seat up to 150 for receptions, parties, dinners, conferences and many other purposes. Our ten large comfortable bedrooms look out over the grounds and contain all the amenities you would expect. Our bar offers Real ales, a comprehensive wine list and lots of chattern with the locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coppleridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppleridge Hotel Shaftesbury
The Coppleridge Inn Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing