We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and great breakfast”
Review of La Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fleur de Lys
Ranked #3 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good hotel and great breakfast”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed at the Fleur de Lys for one night on our way back from Devon. The hotel was clean and well located in this small town and did an excellent cooked breakfast. The room had a laptop with internet access although it was a slow connection.

As I suffer from a feather allergy we had requested no feather bedding when booking online so were disappointed as we got in to bed to discover a feather duvet. By this time there were no staff around and so thought we would mention it on checking out in the morning however as it was only the cleaner who took our key, there was no opportunity to feed this back. Therefore if you have any specific requests, I would suggest you either check upon arrival or call ahead to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    18
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
55
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is a lovely hotel-restaurant in the heart of Shaftesbury. The public rooms are spacous and comfortable and there are books of local interst for the visitros to read. Mary keeps a geneours supply of magazines for her guests to borrow and read. My room, the "Sauvignon", was very nice, with a double bed, good cloest space and a good sized bathroom with a shower and lots of hot water. The hotel has free wi-fi and each room comes with its own laptop. There are tea and coffee making facilities in each room plus a tin of homemade shortbreads - they are very very good and you will eat more than one! The dining room is highly recommnded. There is a good selection of meat, poultry, fish and vegetarian dishes as wel as a good wine list. There is a free car park at the back and the staff will carry your luggage to and from your room.

David, Mary and Marc are superb hosts and I would return to La Fleur de Lys in a minute. Shaftesbury is a pretty town that is close to lots of attractions. Salisbury is about 20 minutes away and Bath about an hour.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The warmest of welcomes, which was great at the end of a tiring day. Comfortable room, beautifully equipped, sensitive service and excellent food. Recommend most highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodmintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We were looking for a little treat amongst the 'lodges' on our tour of the southern counties of England and picked this restaurant with rooms to stay.

The hotel is on the edge of town with a VERY narrow alley to access the car park at the back. Although there is a quiet courtyard garden at the back, there are no formal gardens, the front being directly on the street. The building however is in a delightful local stone and looks inviting from the outside.

Before we had got the luggage out of the car behind the hotel, Mary (joint owner with her husband David) was at the back door welcoming us in and making us feel at home. "David will carry up your bags" she said. Shown up to our very quiet room at the rear of the building we took one look in and said "wow". The room was furnished in excellent taste with a large bed, sofa, desk, wardrobe and a 'laptop' computer with free internet access. There was fresh cafetiere coffee, home-made shortbread and fresh milk and bottled water in a small fridge.

Downstairs, there is a large comfortable guest lounge and bar, and beautifully set out restaurant. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was excellent - we both had Dorset lamb that really melted in the mouth, and a Creme Brulee with a really good crunchy top (NOT the pathetic wafer thin blow-torched offering seen elsewhere). The atmosphere was great with no intrusive 'music' and the meal lived up to all expectations.

After a perfect night's sleep and refreshing wash with the high quality toiletries in the immaculately clean bathroom, we went down to breakfast.

Breakfast was the highest quality fresh ingredients with freshly squeezed orange, home made bread and a choice of all the usual cooked items. It was difficult not to overindulge in this feast.

The whole hotel was cleaned from top to bottom every day whether it visibly needed it or not - and it showed. Service was more like family friends than guests - something that made us feel really at home and wanting to stay much longer.

All in all, at a price of £125 per night for a double room and quality breakfast, the Le Fleur de Lys will be hard to beat for sheer quality and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The attention to detail here was very impressive; (fresh milk in the fridge) - and the proprietors did everything to make sure that my stay was as comfortable as possible.

My room looked out onto the road so I was aware of traffic noise; but the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless.

The restaurant was excellent, and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totnes
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed in a twin room here, it was 125 pounds for the night but a bargain considering what a lovely little place it was. Everything was nicely finished, my mum really enjoyed the complementary shortbread and I was delighted to find a mini fridge in our room. A laptop was provided in our room for internet (so we didn't have to share mine!) and it was located just a hop step and a jump away from Gold Hill. Breakfast was delicious with generous quantities and the staff were just lovely. if I am ever back I will be using you again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totnesanddevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I stayed here this week ( three nights) on business, found the rooms really nice, there was three of us and we had a good look at all three rooms which were a cosy but really nicely done out, with all the usual requirements and each each room had it's own laptop and internet connection which was really novel.
The heart shaped home made biscuits are to die for, i tried only eating one but could'nt resist them.
We didn't eat at here due to our nightly bugdet not allowing us, but the smells from the kitchen were nice, great place for location. Loads of local eateries.
The carpark is a bit snug but we but fine.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trill_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
397 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
132 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
13.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fleur de Lys

Property: La Fleur de Lys
Address: Bleke Street | Dorset, Shaftesbury SP7 8AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fleur de Lys 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fleur de Lys is a a Family run Restaurant with rooms offering a very warm & Personel Service with Great Food freshly prepared & cooked by owners David & Marc & served by Mary & her very loyal staff. We also offer 8 lovely en=suite rooms for you to really relax & enjoy your stay with us. So come spoil yourselves & enjoy the delights of rural Dorset whilst visiting La Fleur de lys in the beautiful Hill Top Town of Shaftesbury ( Home to Gold Hill of Hovis Fame) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fleur De Lys Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing