We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome and amazing value”
Review of The King's Arms

The King's Arms
Ranked #34 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome and amazing value”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This pub has come a long way since I first visited it in the late 1970s.
It is spacious, spotlessly clean and offers a warm welcome.
On our lunchtime visit last week the pub was quiet, with only one other family in the restaurant. People dining elsewhere were missing a treat.
My husband chose fish and chips, which he said was light and well-cooked, and I had lasagne, which came with a side salad and garlic bread.
Often pub lasagne is greasy and so hot that it burns the mouth, but this was perfectly cooked.
The minced beef was tender, the salad crisp and fresh, and the garlic bread generous - three slices.
We were too full for puddings, which was a shame, but we will be back when we are hungrier to enjoy a two-course meal.
This pub offers excellent value for money, well-cooked dishes, reasonably priced drinks and a friendly lady behind the bar and waiting at table - nothing was too much trouble for her.
There are some wonderful old photos of Shaftesbury and other scenes of Dorset on the walls, which provide interest for tourists and locals alike.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    9
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food in a special way”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Wonderful food, but make sure you are hungry! delightful staff and reception. Noisy at times but this adds to the atmosphere. fully recommend the £5. lunch too. But book well in advance.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Have just had lunch it was excellent it is obvious the chef has changed, get in quick, it's going to get very busy. the food is all home cooked. About time somewhere that has excellent pub food

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emneth wisbech
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dissappointed!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Food was fine, service was a bit lacking especially having to ask for the bill three times, and I was a bit dissappointed in loss of atmosphere after being told it was the best place around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DDvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This was the second time we had gone in and a short while later gone out again,we will not be going a third time. The toilets were disgusting and not useable.
Very unfriendly place,we orderd a drink each and felt that was enough by the way we were dealt with. No one seems to care or be bothered you could sit there for hours and no one would bother about you or ask if you were ok.
Terrible place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King's Arms also viewed

 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to The King's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing