We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downhill”
Review of The Salt Cellar

The Salt Cellar
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“downhill”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

we used to go here every weekend for something to eat.sad to say the quality has gone downhill.obviously they have a beautiful setting at the top of gold hill so are a magnet for visitors to pop in.however, this is also popular with us locals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank melody b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    105
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice cafe at top of Golds hill with good views down the hill and across the countryside. Can eat in or outside. Fairly priced. Next door to the museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eddon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good for a quick lunch”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stopped by the "Salt Cellar" on our way to Dartmoor for a quick lunch and to enjoy the beautiful view over the Devon countryside. Since we weren't that hungry, we only ordered one salmon and potato pie with salad to share. The waitress was very nice and our food was already split between two plates when we got it (very good service). The homemade pie was delicious and the salad with beetroot and apple chunks was special.
A great place for a quick bite. Reservations might be advisable since the place can fill up quickly due to the fact that it's a popular viewpoint.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cuddle_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We always stop here”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Whenever we visit Shaftesbury we always stop here for coffee and cake and tasty lunches. Good value, interesting choice, newspapers/magazines and, of course, one of the most famous views in England. Take time to visit the museum close by which has a beautiful garden, also you may be lucky and find a good bric a brac fair in the market hall behind you. Then a walk along the promenade to work off that cake!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spikesgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Passing through stopped to see the Hill”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stopped off in Shaftesbury so as to get a few shots of Gold Hill. The Salt cellar is positioned right at the top of the hill with excellent views. Lovely coffee and great lunch/brunch menu freshly prepared and cooked by chefs behind the counter. All in all an ideal place to stop for a break while visiting the hill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Salt Cellar also viewed

 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 

Been to The Salt Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing