We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Brewers resurrected”

Ye Olde Two Brewers
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beautiful traditional family run pub at the foot of the famous Gold Hill serving freshly prepared classic pub food and cask ales
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two Brewers resurrected”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Three of us had supper here this evening and each dish was sublime - hake, pork belly and hamburger (would never have expected to describe a burger as sublime). Very personable new landlord and landlady who kept their cool despite being under pressure - good news travels fast in Shaftesbury. Looks like we just got a great new foodie destination.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dorsettraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoBrewers2014, Manager at Ye Olde Two Brewers, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal so much. We are very lucky to have a very talented and passionate Chef as part of our team who is helping us turn this pub back into into a buzzing food focused venue where all friends and family can enjoy this beautiful pub and surroundings.Thanks again for the great feedback, its highly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    58
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub revived”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We live next door and so have seen the Two Brewers ebb and flow over the last 8 years. It has always been a good pub but the new tenants - Sally and Andy have just moved in with passion and commitment. Last night - 17th June - they started their dinner menu. The food was really excellent. Interesting and very well prepared. Great value and good beer too - so it hits all the buttons.

We would highly recommend the TBs and hope that this new chapter will last a long time.

Andy and Ruth

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoBrewers2014, Manager at Ye Olde Two Brewers, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Many thanks for such positive feedback, its really great to read such a lovely review after all the hard work we have put into turning this beautiful pub around. We hope to move from strength to strength with the support of our lovely neighbours and local community and keep improving and moving forward with improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great new Management”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The new management is a dream team... They are going to take this place to new heights with bundles of experience and the warmest hospitality... Shaftesbury is back on the map thanks to Ye Olde Two Brewers!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LamaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“about to get new owners”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we had hoped for a nice change as the pub looks so inviting from outside, and has a good deal of custom, but the owners were about to hand over, and it showed - the chef is off to Thailand (!) so it is 'all change'.

Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“(Temporarily?) Closed”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had intended to have dinner here tonight. However it was shut, closed and dark, with a "To Let" sign tacked on the front. The landlord would seem to have given up. A North Dorset Hygiene rating of 3/5 can't have helped (this was back last November). This has been a very good pub/restaurant in the past, but it has clearly been having problems recently. With luck it will re-open soon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HenPen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Two Brewers also viewed

Shaftesbury, Dorset
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to Ye Olde Two Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing