We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy family Times” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorset Country Holidays Glamping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dorset Country Holidays Glamping
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy family Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed with my family in one of the hurts. We had a great time and the facilities were very clean and modern. We had all we needed supplies we wanted such as pots kettle knives forks etc...
The staff were great...always happy to help and always with a smile... Dawn and Dave, site service, were exceptional...it's a great family camp and I would recommend the site and staff to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank declanbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    16
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
32
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I can't comment on the facilities as we never got to go, this was due to the poor organisation of the staff and extremely outdated booking procedure. All our card details were taken several times and we made multiple calls to try to ensure that the booking was completed until eventually we found out 1 day before we we were due to go that the site was fully booked. I don't know how we could have been more pro active in trying to ensure we could obtain the booking but the staff seemed unable to give a straight yes or no. I'm sure the facilities are great but due to these issues unfortunately we never got to find out.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Softalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in the Galaxy Stargazer (glamping) pod -- you really could see the stars! All the basics such as cutlery, crockery, kettle, gas stove etc were laid on, plus a nifty cool box and a heater for when it gets cold. All in, the space was cosy, welcoming and user-friendly (particularly if you're not a frequent camper).

The staff were wonderfully friendly and accommodating, and went out of their way to make us feel looked after. They run a wide range of activities: we plumped for archery on site and clay pigeon shooting off-site through an associated provider, and both were fun and engaging experiences that would work for families and small groups of adults alike.

One suggestion: if you're thinking about going, consider booking directly with Dorset Country Holidays, rather than through a third party experience/holiday provider.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjaidev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

To quote the website, ‘we understand that Glamping comprises of two words Glamorous and Camping’ and ‘the glamour of the exotic or luxurious mixed with the fun of sleeping under canvas’. We arrived with expectations. ‘Nestled in the beautiful Dorset countryside’ and ‘we are located at the foot of a forestry commission wooded hill in the heart of Thomas Hardy's rural Dorset’ suggested to us a quiet spot in lovely countryside. The gallery aerial photo showed the campsite, but missed the fact that it is in fact behind the Blackmore Services Murco garage on the A30 (where the closest toilets are situated). ‘We also have a small shop on site for essential grocery items that guests may need.’ translated to the garage shop, where there were only a few items to buy, if one could afford the inflated prices.
We were a group of 5, so the only accommodation available to us was the group glamping bell tent. We understood that there would be 6 single futon-style beds, which there were (complete with mattresses with interesting water marks). We arrived prepared with airbeds, as futon-style beds are notoriously uncomfortable. However, we were consoled by the website comment ‘Our accommodation is designed to be lovely and snug’. On the first night of three, as bedtime approached, we were freezing. The site team arrived with an electric heater. Unfortunately, this quickly tripped the power to the tent, which meant no heating, and also knocked out the small light and cool box for the night. (We were warmer on the second night, but the third was a repeat of the first.)
By the morning, we were all frozen and had barely slept, due to the cold and traffic noise from the A30, which made one of our group comment that it felt as though the tent had been pitched in a lay by.
On our arrival, we had inspected the hamper that was provided. ‘All of our sited accommodation comes complete with a hamper. Each hamper includes enough items for the standard number of guests the accommodation can welcome. This applies to cutlery, crockery, (mugs, plates, bowls and glasses) and whistle kettle.’ Inside the broken hamper was a complete mismatch of plastic plates, cutlery and mugs. We asked where the promised glasses were, to be told that this was something that was not normally provided, as ‘this is camping’. However, the team did react to this and purchase some wine glasses the next day and gave us a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, from the MD.
During our stay, we saw the interior of one of the yurts, which appeared to be cosy, perhaps the walls providing more insulation to the cold, traffic noise and conversations from neighbouring tents.
We won’t be returning; the location and noise can’t be changed, even if the facilities could live up to those promised on the website.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from 3 nights in a yurt with my family. The Yurt itself was fine and cosy and the toilets and showers were fine so no complaints there.

What takes the shine off this venue is the location. The yurts are no more than about 15 feet apart so you do hear everything from your neighbours and privacy when outside on your small sitting area is in sight of them. The corner yurt we were in seemed to have had a caravan with an awning squeezed into the space that should have been ours. All the other yurts had their own little grassy bit.

There is road noise too as the Yurts and stargazer pods etc are behind a petrol station on a main road and it seemed a shame everything was kind of crammed in together. Shame really. I maybe naively expected some quiet and some space. In saying that my kids loved the yurt.

The "lake" is a pond really and I caught nothing but didn't fish for long due to weather.

I'd "Glamp" again as it's a good experience but maybe somewhere quiet next time..



Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank STEVEUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I came here last week for 4 nights in a yurt with my two boys 7 and 10 and our big dog. I was apprehensive about camping with the kids and dog as we have never done it before. It was a huge success. All four of us loved it. My boys are very 'free range' anyway but spent the whole time cycling round and playing football. We had bbq's and sat by the fire all evening it was bliss. The Archery was a big hit if a little expensive. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Too tip though. Even on hot days it was very cold at night. Bring layers. Thanks everyone for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had a great escape from the kids. Site was excellent clean and tidy. Stayed in a Bell Tent which for size and value was exceptional. The new shower block was spotless. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with excellent hosts, although there was 2 small niggles which I'm sure can be easily sorted:
The first is the showers can they stay on for more than 10 seconds at a time before have to start again. I'm all for saving water but it is barley enough time to wet yourself.
The second is the constant whir of the fan in the cool box, if it wasn't for this going all night it would have been a perfect nights sleep.
Finally to any future guests if you are outside talking in a group at night be warned that when speaking in a normal voice the sound carries and every word can be heard in the other tents, (I heard some very interesting conversations led n bed at 1am).
Look forward to booking again next year, might even bring the kids!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
6.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Coppleridge Inn
The Coppleridge Inn
#2 of 24 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 24 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
18.6 mi away
Glampotel Bere Regis
Glampotel Bere Regis
#2 of 3 in Bere Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Country Holidays Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Country Holidays Glamping

Property: Dorset Country Holidays Glamping
Address: Blackmore Vale Caravan Park | Sherborne Causeway, Shaftesbury SP7 9PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Country Holidays Glamping is the leading independent glampsite in the country; having offered glamping since '06 and with almost half a centuries worth of experience in providing camping holidays. We offer range of glamping accommodation. Nestled in the Dorset countryside DCHE's glamping site is an AA 4* park with washing amenities, a fishing lake, shop, gym, and massage treatment room. We offer a range of glamping accommodation including bell tents, yurts, glamping pods and vintage caravan. We offer a variety of activities available to book in advance of arrival from clay shooting to lazer warfare. Welcoming families, couples & pets, we're easy to reach, with direct rail connections from Waterloo / Exeter St David & straight off the A30 from Shaftesbury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dorset Country Holidays Glamping Shaftesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing