We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden charm well worth a visit...”

The Coppleridge Inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Set in a delightfully converted 17c farmhouse overlooking Hardy's Blackmore Vale and in 15 acres of its own meadow and woodland. Log fires in winter and a panoramic terrace for summer eating.Our team of chefs produce wonderful meals from fresh local and international produce.An excellent wine list and real ales provide the perfect accompniament.We have several private rooms for parties and a large function room for larger gatherings and weddings.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden charm well worth a visit...”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We visited Monkey World (also well worth a visit) and wanted to get dinner on our way home. Google provided the details of this lovely inn which we would never have found alone.

Food was well presented and plentiful and tasted good to boot! Slightly more expensive than your average inn but worth it!

Service was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble.

Lovely staff, lovely food, lovely location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraEWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    23
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A prime function venue”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Here again - this time not a wedding but a memorial service. This really is the venue of choice round here. We were in a room off the bar area but we were also able to spill outside as the weather was so good. Plenty of chairs and tables and a great play area for the children. Food comprised sandwiches (poor) and cakes/scones (good). The best aspect was friendly service and no shortage of staff. They broadly get this type of event right. Recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in the countryside”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great service! Great views from the terrace! Great food! Great prices! A great place to eat. We were just passing in the area and were so pleased to find this wonderful inn. We will certainly try and eat here again. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good party venue”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We have been here a few times to the pub, for a wedding and an after funeral gathering! It's in a smart setting and there is an attractive building where the larger events are held.
Friends who stayed over at the wedding were very pleased and everyone enjoyed the food. The funeral do was well managed and service efficient. The bar is a welcoming area and an attentive bar man offers good beers and wines. The pub offers themed food on different nights of the week; this is definitely a place I can recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stopped off for a quick lunch. The inn has an interesting layout - back bar, conservatory left, drinking/eating area front, restaurant right; accommodation around a courtyard, and garden with small playground and chickens.

The menu is extensive, with many touches of imagination; dishes range from £8.75 to £14.50. I chose crepe and salad (£9.75). The crepe was filled with spinach, and topped with melted Stilton; rich, but not heavy; accompanied by a good salad, and washed down with an excellent pint of Exmoor Bitter.

Pleasant surroundings, interesting bar decor, and excellent service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saffronsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coppleridge Inn also viewed

 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
 

Been to The Coppleridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing