We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food great atmosphere nil”

The Coppleridge Inn
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Set in a delightfully converted 17c farmhouse overlooking Hardy's Blackmore Vale and in 15 acres of its own meadow and woodland. Log fires in winter and a panoramic terrace for summer eating.Our team of chefs produce wonderful meals from fresh local and international produce.An excellent wine list and real ales provide the perfect accompniament.We have several private rooms for parties and a large function room for larger gatherings and weddings.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“food great atmosphere nil”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had a fabulous meal at the Coppleridge Inn but nearly didn’t stay. The location is idyllic, which is why we pulled in, but our initial impression was of a rather staid menu of ‘old favourites’ on a chalkboard. We read on and the restaurant menu actually looked quite appealing, modern and seasonal. We were staying in a B and B in the area and wanted a decent meal on Saturday evening so we booked a table.
The restaurant lacked any sort of ambience. The decor was dated and there were too many stuffed, dead things in glass cases. It was like eating in a museum. There were very few diners for a Saturday evening and our B and B hosts told us that was because it can get quite rowdy if there’s a wedding on.
The service was great, prompt, cheerful and not intrusive. I wanted to order things slightly changed from the menu and the chef was very accommodating, which is encouraging as it shows it’s not all pre-prepared. All our courses were delicious, innovative and really well presented and the bill not unreasonable.
Go for the food, it’s fantastic but if it’s a diner-a-deux you’re planning, the dead animals might just spoil it for you. That or the odd exuberant wedding guest on the terrace.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p0lyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden charm well worth a visit...”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We visited Monkey World (also well worth a visit) and wanted to get dinner on our way home. Google provided the details of this lovely inn which we would never have found alone.

Food was well presented and plentiful and tasted good to boot! Slightly more expensive than your average inn but worth it!

Service was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble.

Lovely staff, lovely food, lovely location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraEWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A prime function venue”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Here again - this time not a wedding but a memorial service. This really is the venue of choice round here. We were in a room off the bar area but we were also able to spill outside as the weather was so good. Plenty of chairs and tables and a great play area for the children. Food comprised sandwiches (poor) and cakes/scones (good). The best aspect was friendly service and no shortage of staff. They broadly get this type of event right. Recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in the countryside”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great service! Great views from the terrace! Great food! Great prices! A great place to eat. We were just passing in the area and were so pleased to find this wonderful inn. We will certainly try and eat here again. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good party venue”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We have been here a few times to the pub, for a wedding and an after funeral gathering! It's in a smart setting and there is an attractive building where the larger events are held.
Friends who stayed over at the wedding were very pleased and everyone enjoyed the food. The funeral do was well managed and service efficient. The bar is a welcoming area and an attentive bar man offers good beers and wines. The pub offers themed food on different nights of the week; this is definitely a place I can recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coppleridge Inn also viewed

 
Donhead Saint Andrew, Shaftesbury
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 
Shaftesbury, Dorset
 

Been to The Coppleridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing