We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stopover in Shaftesbury!!”
Review of Lawn Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lawn Cottage
Ranked #13 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a wonderful and welcoming time June gave us;
from the spacious, clean and airy room to the delicious breakfast. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be planning another trip. Loved the mixture of old and new a real home from home. We chose to eat in the dining room, beautifully furnished but understated and very English! Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

My partner and I stayed at Lawn Cottage to break up a journey. It was a peaceful, comfortable haven where the owner was discreet but available to make things as easy as possible for us.
I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

June, the owner has created the perfect mix of elegance and comfort in this absolute gem of a bed and breakfast. We stayed two nights, but it felt like a much longer break, so restful are the surroundings. The rooms are furnished and accessorised beautifully, to create a gorgeous home from home. There are Molton brown Toiletries and the fluffiest towels with five star hotel standard bed linens. Breakfast is in June's country kitchen with thoughtfully sourced ingredients. The kitchen goes out onto her very beautiful and lovingly tended garden. June herself is an adept host - both welcoming and thoughtful. Truly this is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb23453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were visiting Dorset and the weather was foul! Thank goodness we found Lawn Cottage. What a wonderful refuge. It's so convenient for Shaftesbury, Sherborne and actually for the rest of Dorset.

It's so idyllic, so comfortable and all so pretty. We chose to have our excellent cooked breakfast in the kitchen with the AGA...the weather was so cold and wet! Actually, we did manage on one day to enjoy a cup of tea in the pretty garden.

There's nothing more I can say expect for the fact that our hostess was a delight. We loved our stay here and will be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shaftesbury hotels
2.9 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
430 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Coppleridge Inn
The Coppleridge Inn
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
164 reviews
3.1 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
109 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Shaftesbury
140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawn Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawn Cottage

Address: Laurel Cottage Stour Lane, Shaftesbury SP7 0QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming cottage in pretty Dorset village 3 miles from Shaftesbury. Very comfortable ground floor ensuite rooms, disabled friendy, child friendly and dog friendly. Delicious breakfasts in huge kitchen with aga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lawn Cottage Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing