We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!”
Review of Caalm Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caalm Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Loved our stay at Caalm Camp. Great, well thought out accommodation, the yurt is very cosy and comfortable. Having your own bathroom is fabulous, and the kitchen has everything you need. Nearby Udder Farm shop is expensive but very well stocked. The country side is just beautiful and it's very peaceful. A hit with families, and understandably so, we travelled as a couple and didn't feel too out of place. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. We will be back, with or without kids!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LoubyAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My Daughter and I had a lovely break in a beautiful, clean well equipped yurt, surrounded by stunning countryside. Friendly hosts, well thought out communal areas and a delightful wet room of our own, what a great idea! Also the children in the camp all enjoyed the play area and this gave them somewhere special of their own to meet up and chat.
I'll never camp again! Can't wait for our next visit, Thank you.

Room Tip: All the yurts looked lovely and have their own space around them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Well I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our stay!! Once we arrived in the mesmerizing countryside and was welcomed to our yurts by friendly faces we knew we were in for a treat :)
The rooms were second to none and the kitchen area stocked with everything you would need to feel at home......combined with fun, friends and an open fire this was one beautiful experience filled with happy memory's :) thank you xxxxx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first experience of glamping and it did not disappoint and we are senior citizens!! From our first impressions on arrival when we were met by Mark who showed us around all the facilities and how to ventilate the Yurt to our departure when he was there again to ensure all had been okay. Mark was also there on a daily basis in case anything else was needed. The facilities were second to none with private wet rooms that had hot showers and fluffy white towels. The communal kitchen was also great with everything you needed to the camaraderie of the other glampers. Just remember your tea towels if you go. The beds were clean and comfortable and the Yurt had everything we needed. Thanks Mark and Caryl may you continue to succeed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilParker595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second stay at Caalm Camp and I have to say that we were treated to the same luxurious comfortable stay as we had the year before. Mark made us feel very welcome again and the weather was beautiful which always helps! It is the most peaceful and scenic place to stay and unwind. The Yurts themselves are huge, the beds and pillows are very comfortable and the linen is top hotel quality and I'm very fussy! My son says he always has the best nights sleep of his life at Caalm camp! The shared kitchen is great, large enough for lots of families to use and it never felt crowded. It was great having our own private wet room with big fluffy towels. We made full use of everything Caalm camp has to offer from the table tennis in the barn to watching the DVDs in the dining area and playing/reading the games and books that were there for our entertainment. My son and I loved going to see the goats, they are incredibly friendly and although there was a cockerel in the barn that we could hear cock-a-doodle-do his head off during the day, it never woke us up! If you want to relax, unwind, soak up the environment and let your kids run free safely with the best nights sleep, then Caalm camp is well worth a visit. We can't wait to return!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank toombstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The owners have thought of everything...so lovely to be staying in the outdoors but to have a lovely private bathroom with warm towel rails and power shower!! Plenty of space in the kitchen and a great space if the weather is not up to scratch. Loved the access to the farm animals (or at least the kids did) and the trampoline was a hit. Mostly we loved the yurts themselves which are clean and spacious but also cozy to sleep in. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolawj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Not being big on camping, I reluctantly agreed to the compromise of glamping when I saw the reviews of Caalm Camp. Having just returned from a fantastic week there, I'm so glad I did!
Mark made us feel very welcome & gave us a guided tour of the facilities on arrival. The yurt was spacious, clean & incredibly comfortable. We had a week of hot weather, but I imagine they'd be very cosy in winter too with the wood-burner. Each of the 6 yurts has it's own space, with barbecues and individual fire pits provided (with unlimited wood to burn), while there is also a communal fire if you feel like joining other guests toasting marshmallows...
There are individual marked cupboards & fridges in a well-equipped kitchen & dining area, and separate bathrooms for every yurt with wonderful hot showers, towels & even underfloor heating.
The kids loved having their independence around the camp & particularly the play area & paddock with the goats & sheep. If the weather turns, there's always pool, table tennis or books & DVDs to amuse them.
We loved just sitting under the clear skies with a glass or two of wine & relaxing under the Milky Way with the log fire crackling away. The children have never slept as well (must be the great country air!)
Located just a few miles from the quaint market town of Shaftesbury for stocking up on provisions, Caalm Camp is only an hour from the south coast & handily situated for the likes of Longleat & Monkey World.
I have to admit to being a glamping convert. We had a great time & made some wonderful friends. Many thanks to Mark, Caryl & the extended family (especially the lovely Sandra) for making our break so enjoyable & hope to see you all again next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Atco64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
24.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,863 reviews
14.9 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
18.7 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
397 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caalm Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caalm Camp

Property: Caalm Camp
Address: Goods Farm Dover Street | Dorset, Shaftesbury SP7 0QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Cottage in the rural Blackmore Vale in Dorset, with beautiful views.Converted stables to a high standard, in a great location for many attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caalm Camp Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing