We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfy cottage In a lovely Dorset town”
other travellers have booked this property
Easter Cottage, in the heart of town with its own parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Easter Cottage, in the heart of town with its own parking
Overlooking the ancient Angel Lane leading to Shaftesbury High St View of the rear court yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Easter Cottage, in the heart of town with its own parking
Overlooking the ancient Angel Lane leading to Shaftesbury High St
View of the rear court yard
Master Bedroom with king size bed and flat screen TV
Cosy twin bedroom with wall mounted TV
Well equipped, light and airy kitchen, with view over rear courtyard
There will always be nice things to welcome you
Comfortable and relaxing lounge
Peaceful Lounge looking over the rear courtyard
Bathroom with bath and shower, warm towels in the airing cupboard
The Famous Gold Hill just a short stroll away
King Alfred's Kitchen Shaftesbury,  the legend of where the cakes where burnt
A fresh morning swim is just a few yards away, a large heated pool open till Oct
Tout Hill medieval hill leading down to the Blackmore Vale
Pine Walk leading on from Park Walk
Lots of lovely places to walk
A summers evening view from Castle Hill overlooking the Blackmore Vale
Beautiful Stourhead gardens and house a short drive away.
Ancient woodland walks on your doorstep.
Angel Lane, Easter Cottage is on the far right at the end of the Lane, tucked away.
Park Walk with its amazing views.  A short level walk from Easter Cottage
Explore the county lanes
Park Walk with lovely views across Melbury Hill.
Just a short level walk from Easter Cottage
Stourhead Gardens, just a 15 mins drive away.  Longleat Safari Park is just a little further on.
Enjoy shopping in the local Farm Shops
Find shade in the woods on a hot summer day.
Spectacular autumnal colours on local woodland walks.
Walk the magnificent Jurassic coast just an hour's drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Shaftesbury, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Franck130...
Saint-Nazaire, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfy cottage In a lovely Dorset town”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Arriving In the cottage on the first day of our holidays, we discovered what we expected : a confortable home, with very nice rooms, well equipped. Ashley welcomed us, answered our questions and gave us advices so that we could choose among the amount of visits we can plan from This area.
We arrived late and were very pleased to discover milk, fruits, eggs... In the kitchen.
We had a very Nice stay in that very quiet cottage, and the private parking near the house was a must.
Shaftesbury is a busy market town with stunning views and all the shops we need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage location
Liked least: Sincerely, nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BennySoln...
Solna, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a very charming old town”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very good standard with everything you need, and a very pleasant house holders.Will certainly consider to go back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeachyGra...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Shaftesbury”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What a lovely place, and what a lovely town. Dawn (and Ashley and Annie) made sure we had everything we needed, and took care of our little issues quickly and efficiently. We were greeted by Annie upon arrival, and she made us a desperately-needed cuppa, then helped schlep the luggage in from the car.

For particulars: First, the cottage is well-located in Shaftesbury. The post office, grocery stores and the high street are within easy walking distance. Gold Hill is a nice stroll down, but beware to leave energy for the hike back up (or, if it's daylight, you can return through the park). The area around the cottage is quiet; we had no trouble with noise from the street.

Second, the parking is nicely off-street. The parking area/courtyard is accessed through a charming, and wide enough to comfortably drive through, archway. The courtyard is quiet, as are the neighbours.

Third, the house is well-equipped with all the amenities. We did have a bit of a time trying to get the dryer to work properly, but the washer did great. Cooker and fridge were all that we could want. Dawn made sure that we had enough goodies upon arrival to take care of breakfast for at least a couple of days, and other needs were well-supplied.

Four, the beds are comfortable. We slept very well.

Fifth, We had an issue or two that needed attending to. Dawn responded quickly, and by the evening things had been seen to.

I would gladly return to Shaftesbury and spend even more time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Liked least: Shower was a little weak
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Undergrou...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“perfect base for northern Dorset”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This house is beautifully decorated and very comfy. Well-placed for shops, bars and restaurants in the town. There is a fair number of recommended eateries. Our favourites wereThe Two Brewers (take the car unless you're fit for the hill coming back up), Chutney indian restaurant, which had some really unusual dishes on the menu and the food we had was scrumptious, and The Mitre. The latter two are a flat short walk from the house, food in all, fab, with efficient friendly service. There are lots of interesting daytrips within an hour's drive, even though around here that's around 15 miles, with the cute winding roads. Scenery's amazing too. Dawn was very helpful from enquiry stage onwards, very patient with my questions. We even arrived to a kitchen full of goodies including wonderful, locally made bread which was heavenly. All in all, we wished we'd had 2 weeks, and hope to ge able to go back. Huge thanks to Dawn for providing a warm welcone and a great property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna-a...
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Such a wonderful cottage in such a perfect holiday location!”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Staying at Dawn's cottage was magnificent from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. She had prepared freshly baked bread, organic milk, eggs, coffee, tea, and a freshly baked pie for us when we arrived! We've never felt more welcome. The cottage was absolutely spotless and clean and the interior is designed with an eye for detail and utmost care. There is absolutely nothing we missed in this cottage. I would recommend it to anyone who's looking for a worry free week in Dorset. Shaftesbury is such a cute little town with a exceptional view over Dorset countryside and it's a great starting point to trips to the coast, to local villages or to Stourhead in the North or the Longleat Safari Park. Dawn is the most caring and helpful host who's there within minutes if you need her and will leave you alone to enjoy a peaceful holiday when you don't need her. We will most certainly come back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very cosy”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We actually stayed next door in Summer Cottage, but we were very satisfied. A cosy cottage with all amenities and parking in the courtyard just outside. Easy walking distance from the shops and everything you need in Shaftesbury, which is a lovely little town.
Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The shower!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roadtripb...
Ibiza
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Two years later and even better”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After being their first guest two years ago, I once again spent a few days there in October. I had expected to see some wear and tear as last time everything was new but to my surprise and delight it was in many ways better. The place was immaculate and I felt even more at home. Attention to detail was very evident and I am really pleased that they have done so well that they have bought the property next door and that opens for renting soon. When you get it right you deserve sucess. I look forward to my next visit to Shaftesbury and staying at Easter cottage. Which is more than I can say about many of the rental properties I have stayed at in the U.K

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing