We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King alfreds Kitchen

King alfreds Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional English Tea Rooms and Bistro serving breakfast, morning coffee, lunch and afternoon teas. On a Friday and Saturday night we serve supper. The restaurant and tea rooms are housed in an atmospheric 13 century building.
bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Popped into Shaftesbury and we felt the need for a bite to eat. We decided on King Alfreds as we are not typical Costa coffee type people. It's a lovely traditional olde world tea room and restaurant which is wonderfully presented. We ordered the homemade broccoli and stilton soup which came with a mini Roll and afterwards had the Dorset apple cake which is the best we have ever tasted....congratulations to the chef!...my wife even asked him for the recipe it was that good and it takes a lot to please my wife!...Well done King Alfreds.. Will visit again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kawaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    11
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stale scones anyone?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The outside promised so much. A quaint little tea room in a beautiful village..... What could go wrong? Apart from odd service from the waitress..... When our scones came out, they were hard, stale and tasteless! Badly made scones are awful. Stale, badly made scones are unforgivable! If you are thinking of visiting Shaftesbury...... Go to costa!!!!! I have felt sick for the last 16 hours......

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Castleheritagehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“Appalling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went for a snack and something to drink but now we all feel sick and my father has thrown up 5 times in the past 3 hours! Because of a MOULDY apple cake. The hot chocolate tasted like watered-down off milk and there was a dog hair in the coffee! The table cloth was mucky. We will NEVER,NEVER go back there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Verger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My friends and i visited from Whitstable in Kent for the weekend and came across this lovely little place for breakfast. The service was brilliant, everything was cooked to order and the food was so fresh. The best scrambled eggs I have had at a restaurant! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori-Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is a grate little restaurant right in the middle of shaftesbury. We had tried to eat at a pub just down the road called the Mitre but they were so rude we decided to try somewhere else. So please we did.

The food is good value and home made. I recommend this place for a quick bite to eat. It is a very old building full of character. The staff are excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb_Fulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King alfreds Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to King alfreds Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing